BBQ Chicken Fingers

Thanksgiving is over and I have no left overs to make turkey this or turkey that.  Which, I guess is ok.  I didn’t have to cook or clean up yesterday.  I enjoyed a good meal cooked by my uncle and his wife, saw family I haven’t seen in years and didn’t have to clean up a thing.  (I suppose I should have offered, and maybe I did, but it was nice not to have to fuss and get things done).

So today I had chicken in the freezer.  The last meat until grocery shopping.  I planned on making chicken fingers as I normally do.  Coat it with panko bread crumbs and cook them in the oven.  Craig was possibly supposed to bowl in Bayport.  When we go there, we usually eat their BBQ chicken fingers.  Not that I’m comparing their food to what I just made, because you can’t.  But it did give me the idea of making them this way instead of the “normal” way.    The chicken was nice and tender. I used two kinds of Famous Dave’s Sweet and Zesty and then for my hot taste buds, I used Devils Spit!

Here’s what you need:

4 chicken breasts, cut into strips (I had lemon pepper flavored)

whole wheat flour

Egg substitute (Egg Beaters)

All Season Salt

Garlic Salt

Nutmeg

Smart Balance Omega oil

Here’s what you need to do:

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

Put the flour (mixed with all of the seasonings) on a plate and the egg substitute in a bowl.  Put each piece of chicken in the flour, in the egg, then back into the flour mixture again.

Heat frying pan with the oil just enough to cover half of the chicken pieces.  Place chicken in the oil and cook on each side until browned.  After the chicken is browned, remove from pan and set aside on a plate.  Pour the BBQ sauce in a bowl and coat each piece and place on a cookie sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

I served this along with some Jiffy corn bread muffins!

Not quite so quick, but sure is easy and and tastes even better.  A great after the holiday dinner to try for sure.

Have a great rest of the weekend…

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

 

Leave a comment