Deep Dish Pizza

Deep Dish Pizza

First off I need to say congratulations to my other part of Two Girls Cooking – Jodi.  She gave birth to her first baby boy yesterday at 10:01pm.  His name is Sammie Taylor.  And from what I’ve seen of his picture, he’s a pretty cute little guy.  Congratulations to you and Scottie.  Be blessed with your new bundle of joy!

Now onto pizza.  I will say there are few things that I really enjoy eating quite often.  One is Zantigo and the other is this home made pizza that Jodi gave to me a while back.  Then came that time where I was told I needed to cut this sort of food out of my diet.  That was a hard one to take because this pizza is so good.

Do any of you remember Edwardo’s?  There used to be one in Bloomington and downtown Saint Paul.  Now the only place I’ve seen one is in Chicago.  Jodi and I actually traveled there just to eat this pizza.  Ok, that’s a little far fetched, but it was one of MY reasons for wanting to make the trip.  I even got on a plane for this!

Jodi found this recipe at Annies-Eats blog.  And when I looked up in my trusty low cholesterol cook book, I found a recipe that I could make the dough and still enjoy this pizza.  I know when I post a new recipe I always say that this is a must try.  But this one here, is truly a must try.  If love home made pizza, I promise this will not let you down.

I’ve included the link the Annie’s site if you want to make the original pizza dough.  Otherwise you can follow what I’ve made here and feel good about what you’re eating (not to say Annie’s is not good – it just doesn’t use the low fat, no fat ingredients that I need to follow).

So here’s what you need for the pizza crust:

Whole-Grain Pizza Crust

1 cup warm water

2 (1/4 ounce )  packages active dry yeast

1/2 cup skim milk

2 tbs honey

2 tbs olive oil (I used light olive oil)

1/2tsp salt

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup cornmeal

1 1/2 to 2 1/2 cups bread flour

1.  In large bowl, combine water and yeast; let stand for 10 minutes until bubbly.  Add milk, honey, olive-oil, and salt and mix well.  Stir in whole wheat flour, cornmeal, and 1/2 cup bread flour; beat for 1 minute.

2.  Stir in enough bread flour to make a firm dough.  Turn onto floured surface and knead for 10 minutes.  Place dough in greased bowl, turning to grease top.  Cover and let rise for 1 hour.

3.  Turn dough onto floured work surface and let reset for 10 minutes.  Spray two 12″ round pizza pans with nonstick cooking spray and sprinkle with cornmeal.  Divide doug in half and roll to 12″ circles; place on pizza pans; press to edges if necessary.  Let stand for 10 minutes.

4.  Preheat over to 400 degrees.  Bake crust for 10 minutes or until set.

Remove from oven, add toppings, return to oven and bake as the pizza recipe directs.

For the sauce:
1 tbsp. unsalted butter
2 tbsp. grated onion
Pinch of dried oregano
¼ tsp. salt
1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
1 (14.5 oz) can crushed tomatoes
Pinch of sugar
2 tbsp. fresh basil leaves, coarsely chopped
1½ tsp. extra-virgin olive oil
Ground black pepper

For assembling and topping:
2 tbsp. olive oil
8 oz. mozzarella, shredded (about 2 cups)
¼ oz. Parmesan cheese, grated (about 2 tbsp.)

While the dough is rising, prepare the sauce.  Melt the butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Add the onion, oregano, and salt.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until the liquid has evaporated and the onion is golden brown, about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook just until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Stir in the tomatoes and sugar and increase the heat to medium-high.  Bring the mixture to a simmer, then lower the heat to medium-low and continue to simmer until reduced to about 1¼ cups, about 25 minutes.  Off the heat, stir in the basil and oil.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

To assemble, coat a 9-inch round cake pan with 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Transfer the dough ball to a dry work surface and roll out into a 13-inch disk about ¼-inch thick.  Transfer the dough to the pan.  Lightly press the dough into the pan, working into the corners and 1 inch up the sides.  If the dough resists stretching, let rest 5 minutes before trying again.

Sprinkle the shredded mozzarella over the surface of the dough.  Spread the tomato sauce over the cheese and top with Parmesan.  Bake until the crust is golden brown, 20-30 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let rest 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

 

This was super good and it had low calories.

I used low fat cheese also so it took quite a bit of fat and calories out.

For the pizza crust:

Calories 213; Fat 3.17; Saturated Fat 0.46; Dietary Fiber 3.48; Sodium 104.52; Cholesterol 0.20

I used MyFitnessPal to calculate the sauce by scanning the tomato cans, the cheese.  This came out to be under 400 calories per piece.  Great.

Have an awesome weekend.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Edwardo's Pizza - Our Chicago Trip

Not much difference in the picture of Edwardo’s to this pizza!!

One thought on “Deep Dish Pizza

Leave a comment