Pork Chops w/Mustard Sauce

Pork Chops w/Mustard Sauce

I’ve been posting quite a few new recipes that I’ve gotten from this cookbook.  Its’s not only just to get my cholesterol levels down, but to help my family eat better as well.  How can I set a good example to the kids by telling them certain foods aren’t good for them, if I’m not showing them how to make them and eat them myself?

I’ve only done a repeat so far once or twice from this book.  There are that many good recipes in it.  I highly recommend you getting it if you’re trying to either lower your cholesterol or just plain eat better.    Here’s a link on Amazon so you can see for yourself: http://www.amazon.com/Everything-Low-Cholesterol-Cookbook-delicious-low-carb/dp/1598694014.  The first chapter of the book even describes what cholesterol is, how it affects you, when it’s too high, risk factors, etc.

I use this app on my iPhone called MyFitnessPal.  If you’re not sure what this app is, you log your daily food intake, your workouts, track your weight progress…And the best part is you can have your friends follow you and be a support system for you!  On the daily portion of the app, it shows you how much fat, carbs, potassium, sugars, etc. your intake is.  I look at this daily to make sure that I’m staying within the range I need to be.  I’m not so much worried about the caloric intake as I am the fat and sugars.

Yesterday when I looked at the sugar intake I was shocked to see I had already gone over my limit by lunch time.  I had eaten a bowl of cereal (fiber cereal too) and for lunch I had a salad with onions and green olives with ranch dressing and low fat cheese.  I had an apple and some grapes.  So I look at the content of the grapes…A bowl of grapes have 24.8 grams of sugar.  I search online to see if natural sugars affect your triglycerides and sure enough they do.  So each day I’ve been wondering how I’m exceeding the sugar limit to find out it’s from the fruits that I thought were supposed to be good for me!  What’s a sugar addict supposed to do?!

Back to my pork chop dinner!  Since the weather is getting colder, and the snow is right around the corner (literally), I took the opportunity to make this recipe because I got to use the grill.  Not that you can’t grill in the winter, I just choose not to!

Here’s a note from the cookbook:  Spreading the meat with yogurt and mustard mixture before grilling helps keep the meat moist and tender and adds great flavor.

And I’m telling you it really does.  Some of my family are not a huge mustard fan, so I used a bit less than suggested so it wasn’t too much for them.  But I love this one.  I’m sure it would be just as good baked in the oven as well.

Here’s what you need:

2tbs Dijon Mustard, divided

2tbs plain yogurt (I used fat free with less sugar content)

1/8tsp pepper (or as much as you like – pepper is one of my favorites after garlic)

4- 3 ounce bone in pork chops (I used the boneless and cut the fat)

2tbs olive oil (I used light extra virgin olive oil)

1 onion, chopped (I used half onion because the family isn’t a fan)

1tbs flour

1 cup low-sodium chicken broth (I used store bought)

1/4 cup dry white wine (I substituted with more chicken broth)

Here’s what you do:

1.  Prepare and preheat grill.  In a small bowl, combine 1tbs mustard, yogurt and pepper and mix well.  Spread mixture on both sides of pork chops; set aside for 15 minutes.

2.  In a small saucepan, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion; cook and stir until tender, about 5 minutes.  Add flour; cook and stir until combined and bubbly.  Add broth, wine and remaining 1tbs mustard; bring to a boil, stirring with a wire whisk, until sauce is slightly thickened.

3.  Grill the chops for 4-6 minutes on each side; turning only once, until pork is just slightly pink in the center.  Serve with sauce.  I added some parsley to the top of the meat and sauce.

I put some potatoes in the microwave and cooked them until almost soft.  I cut them into bite size chunks and put in a large skillet with the olive oil until they were nice and crisp.

Pan fried potatoes

This was another great meal.  Caleb even ate the mustard sauce (and it had onions!  Of course he didn’t know that).  This was really good.

Have a great week.  Enjoy your food and know that eating healthy doesn’t always have to be “boring”.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

 

 

Leave a Reply

