Rocket Pops

Jodi introduced me to a pretty cool app for our iPads called “Big Fork Little Fork.”  Since I have little ones that I love helping me in the kitchen I decided to give it a try.

I LOVE IT.  First of all this app gives you options when clicking on each recipe to email it, send it to Facebook, print it or save it to my iCal.  Since I make my weekly meal plan on a Numbers program, I thought this was the coolest thing.  It saves to what day of the week I plan on making it.  It saves to that day, gives the ingredients and the directions.  I LOVE IT.

The recipes on there are very kid friendly!!  When I saw these Rocket Pops, I knew we’d have fun with these!  I remember being a kid and waiting for the ice cream truck to come by so I could get a “bomb pop”, which is what these remind me of!  I can’t say that I’ve made homemade frozen treats like this before and I’m not sure I’ll be able to wait over night to see how they turned out! (SHE HAD THIS FOR BREAKFAST THE NEXT DAY)

The weather is just starting to get warm outside, so these cool treats are just in time for the kids to have (and the big ones too!!).

Having new recipes means I’ll have a lot more to post with the kids as well.

LOVE THIS APP!!  Did I already say that.

What you need:

1 pkg. (4-serving size) JELL-O Cherry Flavor Gelatin

1 cup  sugar, divided

2 cups boiling water, divided

ice cubes

2 cups cold water, divided

1 pkg. (4-serving size) JELL-O Berry Blue Flavor Gelatin

1 tub (8 oz.) COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, thawed

Make it:

1. Combine dry cherry gelatin mix and 1/2 cup of the sugar in medium bowl.  Add 1 cup of the boiling water; stir at least 2 min. until gelatin is completely dissolved.  Add enough ice cubes to 1 cup of the cold water to measure 2 cups.  Add to gelatin; stir until ice is completely melted.  Pour evenly into 16 (5-oz.) paper or plastic cups, adding about 1/4 cup of the gelatin to each cup.  Freeze 1 hour.

2. Meanwhile, combine dry blue gelatin mix and remaining 1/2 cup sugar in medium bowl.  Add remaining 1 cup boiling water; stir at least 2 min. until gelatin is completely dissolved.  Add enough ice cubes to remaining 1 cup cold water to measure 2 cups.  Add to gelatin; stir until ice is completely melted.  Refrigerate 1 hour.

3. Spoon about 3 Tbsp. of the whipped topping over red gelatin in each cup; top evenly with blue gelatin, adding about 1/4 cup of the gelatin to each cup.  Freeze 1 hour or until almost firm.  Insert wooden pop stick or plastic spoon into center of each cup for handle.  Freeze an additional 4 hours or overnight.  To remove pops from cups, place bottoms of cups under warm running water for 15 sec.  Press firmly on bottoms of cups to release pops.  (Do not twist or pull pop sticks.)  Store leftover pops in freezer.

Ok, well I have the last part left.  They are in the freezer for four hours.  It’s after 10pm so I guess I’m going to have to wait until after I wake up to have one of these!  But since I’ve got a scratchy throat, who says I can’t have one for breakfast!

How cute and fun are these!  Both Brooklyn and I have a cold right now.  These help our throat feel much better!  So much so we’ll have to try maybe more than one!!

Have a great rest of the week.  You con’t have to have little kids to get this app and have fun in the kitchen!!

Enjoy.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking ; )

Source:

Kraft Recipes

Big Fork Little Fork App

nutritional info per serving

Calories
 130
 2.5 g
 2.5 g
 0 mg
 45 mg
 26 g
 24 g
Protein
 1 g
Vitamin A
 0 %DV
Vitamin C
 0 %DV
 0 %DV

6 thoughts on “Rocket Pops

  1. These are going to be PERFECT for the 4th of July party we are going to! And, yes, we’re a bunch of grown ups!! But, seriously, who isn’t going to want one of these puppies at some point in the day, right?! I don’t care how old ya are…that there is DE-LISHUS!

    Thanks for sharing!
    ~Nessa~

    p.s. Love the Celebrating Home bowls you used! I’m a CH Designer and THAT line is my chosen “personal” line for my home! 😀

    • To be honest I followed the directions on the recipe I had from the app. I know I’ve used just the powder in the fruit salad I’ve made but it’s mixed with other ingredients. I am going to say, without trying, that the jello powder may not be as sweet alone for the pop cycles?
      Patricia 😉

Leave a comment