Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes

IMG_7717

It has been a long time since I’ve been on here.  Too much going on in life.  Nothing more I can say.  I have things to blog and then I haven’t.  Now the holidays are coming and…where has the time gone?

Speaking of holiday’s.  This would be the perfect Christmas (for those that celebrate it) breakfast.  We had it for dinner tonight!  We love to have these types of foods for dinner.

The kids enjoyed it as well.

IMG_7715Khali just dips her fingers in the syrup and leaves the pancake on the plate (she later did eat it though!!).

IMG_7714Caleb really doesn’t like to have his picture taken so he’s acting like he can’t see me taking this.  But he’s eating here too!!!!

IMG_7716Brooklyn ate her pancakes and came back for seconds, but she’s more concerned about having her picture taken.

The reason for these pancakes?

Well, I’ve been trying to remove as much processed foods from our diet as possible.  It’s not an easy task by any means, but I’m working on it.
I found a great website that has a ton of recipes – which is where this came from.  I shopped for the week and I’ll have to say that I didn’t spend any more money than I would have for foods that aren’t as good for you.

I haven’t been as good lately with making the healthiest dinners lately.  As I’ve said, life has been pretty busy.  But it’s time to pay attention to the food we’re putting in our bodies.  Moderation is the key, yes.  But we’re trying!!!

This week I made home made refried beans as well.  I ate those twice for lunch.  GREAT.

Check out the website and let me know what you think.

I did add some cinnamon to this recipe to add a bit more flavor.  To me, I could really taste the flour too much.  After adding a bit, it was fabulous.

We’ll have these again.

Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes
Recipe Type: Breakfast
Cuisine: Pancakes
Author: Patricia
Ingredients
  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour (I use King Arthur’s organic white whole-wheat flour)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 ¾ cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted + butter for frying
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 100% pure maple syrup for serving – I didn’t have 100% pure maple syrup so I tried to use a little of what we had.
Instructions
  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  2. Make a well (hole) in the center of the flour mixture and pour in the honey, eggs, milk, and 2 tablespoons of melted butter. Whisk together thoroughly, but do not overmix.
  3. Gently fold the mashed bananas into the batter with a spatula.
  4. Heat a griddle or sauté pan over medium-high heat. Swirl enough butter around the pan until it is well coated. Add pancake batter using a soup ladle.
  5. When the pancakes have begun brown on the bottom, flip them over to cook the other side.
  6. Serve with warm maple syrup and a side of fruit. And don’t forget to freeze the leftovers for another day!

Have a great rest of the week.  Try this for breakfast this weekend!!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

100 Days of Real Food

Leave a Reply

