Korean Turkey (Instead of Beef)

IMG_7146

Here’s a super easy dinner that my friend, Heidi gave to me again!  I told her she’s been giving me so many recipes lately that she should just help me blog.

We have been very busy this week with the end of football season coming to an end.   When Heidi told me about this meal she had earlier and how fast it would be for me to make.  No kidding.  This was super easy!  There are very few ingredients and as I was told, this rice took the same amount of time as the meat cooked!

I loved the flavor of the meat.  We use ground turkey instead of ground beef, but I’m assuming using the beef wouldn’t give it much different flavor.

I have a few favorite spices/herbs.  Cilantro is by far my favorite but Ginger is a close 2nd!!  I love the smell and the flavor it adds.

I didn’t have the sesame oil on hand and I griped a bit at the cost for the small amount I needed, but wow, that really added great flavor to this as well.

Just looking at the meat you would think that it doesn’t have a powerful flavor, but it sure does.

I’m not a huge fan of rice, but the family is.  I would have preferred to put this over some rice noodle or some pasta!  But nonetheless, this was very fast and super easy.  And these days that’s what’s important.

I snapped a few pictures of the kids while they were eating too!

IMG_7149

Caleb is not a huge fan at all of getting his pictures taken.  I walked by and quickly got this one!  Notice the food on his plate is almost gone!  AND he has a green onion on his plate!  He can’t eat them ON the food but he can eat it on the side.  Whatever works bud!

IMG_7150

This one here doesn’t like to always eat her food.  She has more fun feeding the dogs that are hovering below her chair.  She used to stand near me and say cheese every time I’d get my camera out.  Now?   She tells me to stop.  So I had to quick take this as well of her!

IMG_7151

This girl here?  She’ll strike a pose any time she even thinks about a camera.  Oh here Nana, wait, let me hold my plate up higher!  Nothing wrong with loving those pictures!  I love taking them.  She’s going back to get some green onions on her plate!!  She is the picky person in our house beyond anyone.  Can’t have any food touching any other food.  If we are eating chips with our meal, she has to either eat out of the bag, which I dislike, or get a clean plate.  The chips can’t touch the plate that’s already had food on it.  Too bad she doesn’t feel this way about her room….maybe some day!

Anyways…looking for a quick go to meal, this is it.  Use either ground beef or turkey.  I thought about putting some pine nuts on it as well.  Maybe next time!

Enjoy.

Korean Turkey (Instead of Beef)
Author: Patricia
Serves: 4
Ingredients
  • 1 pound lean ground turkey
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup brown sugar (I like it sweet so I usually do closer to 1/2 cup)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (I use low-sodium)
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced (see note)
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers (to desired spiciness)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 bunch green onions, diced (don’t skip this!)
Instructions
  1. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and brown turkey with garlic in the sesame oil. Add brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, salt and pepper and red peppers. Simmer for a few minutes to blend the flavors. Serve over steamed rice and top with green onions.

Have a great day!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source

Lizzy Writes

Leave a Reply

