Mixed Berry Crumb Bars

 IMG_6927

Today was one of the first days this summer that I’ve shut off the air and opened the windows.  So what did I decide to do?  Turn the oven on and bake!!!

Brown Eyed Baker made a Blueberry Crumb Bars that I got today and they looked so good.  I had some mixed berries in my freezer and decided to see how it would turn out with a variety of fruit!  I almost doubled the recipe and when I when I went to see what more I had in the freezer, I found a full bag of blueberries!  So I mixed them in with the raspberries and strawberries.

Last night I did some of my grocery shopping and usually grab a bag of lemons to add to my water but this time decided on using limes.  So we’ll see how that turns out with the berries!  I’m not usually one to add or change much when baking because of my comfort zone, but it’s what I had so I went with it.  I don’t know if I’ll ever have a “comfort zone” when it comes to baking but we’ll see!

IMG_6923

When I first turned on my oven, I could smell pizza crumbs that must have fallen earlier this week!!!  Now my house has this fabulous smell!!   Of baked berries!!

I love getting recipes every day from Michelle.  She makes some pretty amazing desserts/meals.  I’m just happy when I can bake something and it turns out to be pretty good!

IMG_6931

Now I may have to turn the air back on!!  Just kidding…

Mixed Berry Crumb Bars
Recipe Type: Dessert
Author: Patricia
Prep time: 25 mins
Cook time: 50 mins
Total time: 1 hour 15 mins
Serves: 12
Ingredients
  • For the Crumb:
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
  • 1 egg
  • For the Berry Filling:
  • 4 cups frozen berries
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 4 teaspoons cornstarch
  • Juice of two limes
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.
  2. Make the Crumb: In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Use a fork or pastry cutter to blend in the butter, and then the egg (the dough will be crumbly). Press half of dough into the prepared pan.
  3. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the sugar, cornstarch and lime juice. Gently fold in the blueberries to coat evenly with the sugar mixture. Spread the blueberry mixture evenly over the crust, drizzling any excess juice in the bowl over the filling. Crumble the remaining dough evenly over the berry layer.
  4. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until the top is light golden brown. Cool completely before cutting into squares. Leftovers can be stored in an airtight container or wrapped in plastic wrap at room temperature or in the refrigerator.

 

 

Have a great rest of the week…

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source:

Brown Eyed Baker

Leave a Reply

