Strawberry Cupcakes

IMG_3454

This is the ymmy dessert that Jodi made for us last weekend.  Home made Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Cream Cheese frosting.  To die for right!  Yep, they were good.

Ok so I’m trying to stay away from sweets as I may have mentioned, but come awwnnnnn…When Jodi bakes and comes to my house, I can’t not have one.  This was not a case of stay strong or indulge completely.  This was me knowing when I was alone, so no one could actually see me eating it, I ate it.  I almost had another one but then thought for sure that my game would be called!!!  Haha.  All kidding aside, Jodi made these to go along with out Chicken Dinner and they were fabulous.  She gave us an entire pan to keep.  Now I said I only had one!!

I wasn’t there to watch Miss Jodi make these, but now I wonder if Mr. Sam got to lick the batter spoon.  Hmmm…I’ll have to ask.

Jodi has a garden growing…Jodi has about 37 lbs of fresh strawberries.  She ended up having to freeze the majority of them.  And that’s ok.  I’m going for the next time we get to make these:

IMG_8132

We have no idea what this is made with but know that we will make them and enjoy them with those fresh strawberries!!

Anyways.  We had a great time.  We got to eat great food, we got to watch two 2 year olds play together on an iPad!!  What did we have when we were growing up again!

It seems though time passes too fast that you sometimes forget that you need to always make time for your friends.  And when Two Girls get together, you can bet we’re putting together something worth writing about!!  How’s that!

Strawberry Cupcakes
Recipe Type: Cupcakes
Author: Jodi
Ingredients
  • 1 white cake (mix or homemade)
  • 1 cup of strawberries, diced
  • 1 drop of red food coloring
  • ….
  • 1 stick of butter, softened
  • 3 ounces of cream cheese, softened
  • 4 cups of powdered sugar
  • 1 cup of strawberries, diced
  • whole strawberries, garnish
Instructions
  1. Prepare cake as directed then mix in diced strawberries. Pour batter into paper-lined cupcake tins. Bake as directed. Let cool.
  2. For frosting, mix together butter and cream cheese until smooth, then add powdered sugar and strawberries. Mix on medium for 3-4 minutes. When cupcakes are cool, frost generously and top with a strawberry. Refrigerate.

When there’s a smile on your face, laughter in the room, your belly is full, and a friend by your side, remember, life is good.

Patricia written for Jodi – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source

Jenny Steffens

Leave a Reply

