Chinese Chicken Salad

IMG_6712

I work from home!   I am very grateful that I get to work from home.  One reason is that I get to make my lunch fresh each day!   It also means that I tend to eat the same things over and over.  I love salads.  And I usually will have a lettuce salad about 4 times per week.  And it gets really old.  I’ve tried making my own dressing to just so that I’m using something on a more healthy side, but still.  It gets to be boring.

I’m a follower of the Chef in Training on Facebook, so when I saw her post, I thought, huh, I have to try this.  I know my family may not eat it, but I will.  And I can have this instead of salad every day this week!  Well a regular salad.

In a large bowl add the  sunflower seeds, coleslaw, chopped green onions and chicken.

IMG_6698

Break apart Ramon packets until they are crushed into small pieces. Reserve beef packets for sauce. Add Top Ramon pieces to salad and mix together well.

This next part required me to get out the blender!!!

IMG_6703

In blender, combine almond oil, sugar, vinegar and beef packets. Blend until evenly mixed.

The original recipe calls for Peanut Oil.  I shop at Target Super Store and they don’t always carry things that I need.  They had the peanut oil but in a huge gallon jug that I didn’t need.  I looked through the different types of oils and came across the Almond Oil.  It says it gives a sweet flavor for salad dressings so that’s what I went with.  Great flavor.  I have a new favorite lunch (besides Zantigo!!).

 

Chinese Chicken Salad
Recipe Type: Salad
Cuisine: Chinese
Author: Patricia
Ingredients
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 (16 oz) bag coleslaw mix
  • 2 packages Beef Top Ramon dry, save the packets
  • 1 bunch green onions chopped
  • 2 cups cooked and diced/shredded chicken
  • SAUCE . .
  • 1 cup almond oil
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup white vinegar
  • 2 packets beef seasoning from Top Ramon packages listed above
Instructions
  1. In a large bowl, add sunflower seeds, coleslaw, chopped green onions and chicken.
  2. Break apart Ramon packets with until they are crushed into small pieces. Reserve beef packets for sauce. Add Top Ramon pieces to salad and toss to evenly distribute.
  3. In blender, add almond oil, sugar, vinegar and beef packets. Blend until evenly mixed.

We have had not much of a Spring here in MN.  This past weekend it got into the 70s and we got to use our grill!!!!!  It’s supposed to drop back into winter again but I’m holding firm on the no socks with shoes from here on out!!!

IMG_6719

Two Girls Cooking – Patricia 😉

Source

Chef in Training

Leave a Reply

