Baked Pancakes

IMG_6393

We love, love having breakfast for dinner.  Brinner as I heard it called before!!!  So I happened to find a baked pancake recipe.

I always find recipes that use those heavy cast iron skillets that my grandma used to fry her chicken in, but I didn’t have one.  Now I do thanks to this recipe.  I finally went and got one!!

As you can see from Brooklyn’s thumbs up, she liked them.  Because the ingredients didn’t have much flavor to it, I decided to do two things.  I added a bit of cinnamon to the ingredients and I also used a box (gasp, I know) of pancake mix just in case.  As a back up plan.  We can’t have hungry kids here you know!

IMG_6372

Here is the skillet baked pancake topped with some powdered sugar.

IMG_6399

Here’s Khali’s approval.

IMG_6392

And since this is actually going into his mouth, he approved as well!!

Now I made the second baked one in a 9×3 baking dish.

IMG_6385

Those were pretty good.  I added some syrup and powdered sugar as well.  But they could have been eaten by themselves!  Either way, both the skillet and the pan were gone by the end of dinner!  To me that equals success.

IMG_6389

These were very light.  Next time I may add some fruit to it.  I didn’t this time because I wasn’t sure if it would still rise the way it should.  Good dinner.  Or brinner shall I say!!

Ingredients

2 cups pancake mix (I used blueberry)

1 1/2 cups of milk

1 egg

2 tbs cooking oil

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a medium mixing bowl stir together pancake mix, milk, egg, cooking oil & cinnamon. (batter will have small lumps)
  • Stir in the blueberries, chocolate chips or bacon if desired. Pour into a greased 9×13 inch baking dish.
  • Bake about 10 minutes or until done. Cut into squares and serve with butter & syrup/powder sugar.

Next recipe:
Ingredients:
2 eggs
½ cup milk (2% and whole both work well)
½ cup flour
¼ teaspoon kosher salt
3 tablespoons butter, cut into a few pieces

Directions

Heat the oven to 425, then put the pan in to heat while you prepare the batter. A 10- or 12-inch oven-proof skillet is ideal, but you could use a comparably-sized baking dish.

Beat the eggs in a mixing bowl.  Then add the milk, flour, and salt.

By now your pan should be very hot. Add the butter to it by tossing it into the cracked oven door and letting it sit in there a couple of seconds, then remove the pan from the oven and swirl it so that the butter is melted and sizzling wildly. You need to do all this quite quickly because you don’t want the oven to lose its heat, you don’t want the pan to cool off, and you don’t want the butter to burn. Now pour the batter into the buttery pan and return it the oven. Set your timer for 15 minutes and check to see if it’s puffed and brown.  Mine wasn’t quite so puffed but it was a golden brown.

IMG_6400

Happy Brinner cooking!

Two Girls Cooking – Patricia 😉

Sources:

Family Go

Group Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

