Hash brown Egg Bake

IMG_4992

 I found a new word that just made me giggle and love it at the same time!  Maybe some of you have heard of it, maybe you’re like me and you haven’t.  Brinner.  I’ve said lets have breakfast for dinner, but never combined it like Brangelina (yeah had to go there)!!  In case you aren’t getting it – it’s breakfast and dinner combined.

The original recipe called for Ham and Hash browns but when I sent my son to the store, I forgot to put Ham on the list.  Luckily I had a bag of crumbled sausage I could use.

This was so good and a major hit!  I wanted to make pancakes with it but ran out of time!  Who runs out of time when you have three kids and two dogs to take care or right!!

Ingredients

1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 bag (28 oz.) frozen hash browns
1 bag of crumbled sausage
3-4 eggs
Salt and pepper, to taste,
Dash of Italian seasoning for serving

Directions

  • Preheat to 350.
  • Add the oil, potatoes and sausage to the skillet and saute for 7 to 9 minutes. Then make a few wells for the eggs.
  • Crack the eggs into each well. Then put the skillet right into the oven. I don’t have a skillet that can be used in the oven so I sprayed a 9×13 glass dish and used that instead.
  • Bake for 5 to 7 minutes, or longer if you want the egg completely baked.
  • Sprinkle a little salt and pepper and some Italian seasonings onto each egg.

IMG_4988

I would have never thought to bake an egg in a pan or baking dish in the oven.  Never.  So when I saw this I knew I had to try it.  I should have put some cheese on it!  Oh that would have made it even better!

Next time you want to come up with something fun for Brinner, you have to try this!  It’s great.  And the kids thought it was great to have eggs in the middle of their food!!

Have a great week.

Two Girls Cooking – Patricia 😉

Source

One Dish Dinners

Leave a Reply

