Twix Bars

One of my favorite candy bars is Twix.  I love caramel and chocolate together.  I love it.

IMG_6227

The only complaint I have is that I should have used a sweeter chocolate.  Otherwise, I expect this pan of treats to be gone by mid week.

I think I ate three of them in less than half an hour.  And for those of you that blog, you have to eat the food that you’ve taken photos of right??!!  And then you have to make sure, really sure that it’s good before anyone else tries it!!

I had a ton of pictures that I took of the process of making these.  My little baking buddy, Caleb even helped, but my photos are gone.  I’ve had problems with my camera connecting to my MacBook so I’ve had to use the card instead.  I uploaded all of them and when I went to use them….sniff, they are gone.  Good thing I took this one with my iPhone!!

Anyways…These bars are so good.  Of course I think comparing anything home made to store bought is better!  Not just because it is, but because you get to have fun making it with your family and sharing it with them too (well if you choose to share with them)!

I wonder if I can find something to make Butterfingers!  My son and I will be fighting over that!

Ingredients

  • Shortbread layer:
  • 2 sticks cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • Caramel layer
  • 20 ounces Kraft Caramels, unwrapped of course! (about 1 1/2 bags)
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream
  • Chocolate layer:
  • 18 ounces milk chocolate, melted (I used Ghirardelli Bars rather than chips) – I used the chips
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable shortening (optional, I used)

Instructions

  1. For the crust: Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 9″ x 13″ pan with nonstick foil. Set aside.
  2. Using a pastry blender cut butter into sugar. Use fingers to break up butter, till mixture resembles cornmeal. Add vanilla . Add the flour. Mix till flour is incorporated…mixture will be crumbly.
  3. Press it evenly into the pan. Lightly flouring your fingertips will help with any sticking.
  4. Prick the crust all over with a fork.
  5. Bake 15 minutes until the crust is lightly golden brown on top and the edges are deeper golden brown. Set it aside to cool completely.
  6. For the caramel layer: Melt the caramel and cream over low heat in a small saucepan. (or use microwave, stopping and stirring at 30-60 second intervals till smooth and melted). Pour the caramel over the cooled crust and set in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to chill and firm up.
  7. For the Chocolate Layer: Melt the chocolate and shortening in by microwaving using 30 second increments, stopping and stirring till melted and smooth. Spread over caramel. I used a plastic frosting tool to make optional striations while the chocolate was warm.
  8. Let cool before cutting.

Have a great week.

Two Girls Cooking – Patricia 😉

Source

That Skinny Chic Can Bake

2 thoughts on “Twix Bars

Leave a Reply

