Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Chili

IMG_4678

I’m a huge chili fan.  It’s a great meal to make during these crazy MN winter days.  I love to try new varieties as well, so when I saw buffalo chicken chili I knew this was going to be good.  I wasn’t sure if the family was going to like it, but I knew I would.  If you ask why the family wouldn’t like it, well, there’s those big orange things in it.  And then the little black beans.  Oh and I did add some chopped onion.  (Craig made a sandwich for dinner!!).

Here’s what you need:

Reynolds™ Slow Cooker Liners – I didn’t use these

2 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch pieces (I used the rotisserie Oscar Meyer cut up chicken 2 containers)
1 large onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
2 medium stalks celery, sliced (about 1 cup) – I even left the celery out for the picky people
2 medium carrots, chopped (about 1 cup)
1 can (28 oz) Muir Glen® organic diced tomatoes, undrained – I used a jar of salsa instead to give it more flavor since I’m not a huge tomato fan
1 can (15 oz) Progresso® black beans, drained, rinsed
1 cup Progresso® chicken broth (from 32-oz carton)
2 teaspoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup buffalo wing sauce (from 12-oz jar) (I put this in after serving the kids’ bowls)
Crumbled blue cheese, if desired
  • Place Reynolds™ Slow Cooker Liners inside a 5- to 6 1/2 -qt slow cooker bowl. Make sure that liner fits snugly against the bottom and sides of bowl and pull the top of the liner over rim of bowl.
  • In lined slow cooker, mix all ingredients except buffalo wing sauce and cheese.

IMG_4666

  • Cover; cook on Low heat setting 8 to 10 hours.

IMG_4668

  • Stir in buffalo wing sauce. Serve sprinkled with blue cheese.

Adding the salsa to it gave it that extra boost in flavor.  And I put the wing sauce in after serving up the kids’ bowl because they wouldn’t be able to eat the hot sauce!  I added a bit more to my own bowl.  I dipped some Frito Scoops with mine (weird habit) and had some dinner rolls on the side.

There was enough left over for my lunch today.  I loved this.  I’d make it again for sure.

Have a great rest of the week.  Hopefully you’re somewhere warm reading this.  Today’s high in MN is going to be 18 degrees (not including the wind chill) and tomorrow a high of 1 degrees (again, not counting the windchill).  I am so waiting for Spring to arrive!!!

Two Girls Cooking – Patricia 😉

Source

Betty Crocker

 

Leave a Reply

