Strawberry Ice Cream

IMG_4606

We’re all ice cream lovers in our house.  So it was a good thing when I finally decided to get the Cuisinart maker.  I’ve used it several times so far.  Strawberry was the next suggested flavor to make.

I have been keeping my bowl in the freezer outside so that when I need it it’s ready to go.  But I have a feeling that the freezer isn’t working as well as it should.  I’ve been having problems with the mixture not getting thick when it’s being mixed.  The first time I made some last week the recipe I had for vanilla ice cream didn’t say to chill in the fridge.  I talked to Heidi at work and she says she chills her mixture in the fridge for a couple of hours before mixing it in the freezer bowl.

So when I made this batch I brought freezer bowl in the kitchen fridge and I put the ice cream mixture in the fridge to chill.  Not for a couple of hours (because we were celebrating Justice’s birthday) but for about an hour.  Still, after putting it in the freezer bowl for 25 minutes, it didn’t come out thick at all.

I put it in the fridge over night and had some after lunch today.  It has a great flavor, but a bit of freezer burn feel to it.  I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong here.  Any suggestions would be helpful!

Ingredients:

3 cups fresh ripe strawberries, stemmed and sliced

4 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 1/2 cups sugar, divided

1 1/2 cups whole milk

2 3/4 cups heavy cream

1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Instructions:

In a small bowl, combine the strawberries with the lemon juice and 1/2 cup of sugar.  Stir gently and allow the strawberries to macerate in the juices for 2 hours.  Strain the berries, reserving juices.  Mash or puree half the berries.

IMG_4600

In a medium mixing bowl, use a hand mixer on low speed to combine the mild and remaining granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved, about 1 or 2 minutes.  Stir in the heavy cream, reserved strawberry juice, mashed strawberries, and vanilla.

IMG_4586

 Turn the machine on; pour the mixture into the freezer bowl, and let mix until thickened, about 20-25 minutes.

IMG_4596

Five minutes before mixing is completed, add the reserved sliced strawberries and let mi in completely.  The ice cream will will have a soft, creamy texture.  If a firmer consistency is desired, transfer the ice cream to an airtight  container and place in freezer for 2 hours.  Remove from freezer about 15 minutes before serving.

IMG_4602

After reading the dang directions from the book that came with the mixer, I realize you get directions for a reason.  It did say that you should chill the mixture at least 2 hours or over night.  I did put mine in two airtight containers and ate it today.  I will not be discouraged!  This was really good.  I like making it at home!  We’ll see what new kind we can come up with soon.

IMG_4613

My favorite is Praline Ice Cream.  I’ve found some recipes so I’ll have to give that a shot next!

Two Girls Cooking – Patricia 😉

Source:

Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker

Leave a Reply

