Orange Creamsicle Fudge

I had said last week that I was doing my best to cut back on my sugar intake again.  Well I’m still doing that, but not everyone in the house has to be!  I did try it to make sure that it was good enough to have others eat it!!  And let me say that this brought back some childhood memory of eating the Orange Push Ups!!

I had the day off this past Friday to get the new iPhone 5.  I woke up at 4:30am to go sit outside in the rain with the other techy geeks!  I got the phone, I love the phone, but I’m running on a lack of sleep.  This afternoon at about 2pm I was seriously ready to fall asleep.  Since there are kids here, nap time for Nana was not an option.

I had the ingredients for this actually sitting on my counter for quite a few days.  So I thought if I had a bit of sugar in me, maybe it’ll wake me up!  I let Caleb eat some of white chocolate on the spoon and the other little one wanted a taste.  She let out a little silly giggle and wanted more, more, more!  So needless to say the fudge was a hit before it even hit the fridge to harden up for an hour!!

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz (1.5 sticks) butter
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 package (12 oz) white chocolate chips
  • 1 jar (7 oz) marshmallow cream (or fluff)
  • 1 tablespoon orange extract
  • orange (or a combination of red and yellow) food coloring

Preparation:

1. Prepare a 13×9 pan by lining it with aluminum foil and spraying the foil with nonstick cooking spray.

2. In a large heavy saucepan, combine the sugar, cream, and butter over medium heat. Continually stir the mixture until the butter melts and the sugar dissolves. Brush down the sides with a wet pastry brush.

3. Bring the mixture to a boil, and once it starts boiling, insert a candy thermometer. Cook the candy until it reaches 240 degrees F on the thermometer, which should take about 4-5 minutes.

4. After the candy reaches 240F, remove the pan from the heat and immediately stir in the marshmallow cream and white chocolate chips. Stir until the white chocolate has melted and the fudge is completely smooth.

5. Working quickly, pour about a third of the white fudge into a bowl and set aside. To the remaining fudge, add the orange extract and orange food coloring, stirring until it is a smooth, even color. It is important to perform these steps quickly, because the fudge will start to set if you take too long, and the end result will not be smooth.

6. Pour the orange fudge into the prepared pan and spread it into an even layer. Drop the white fudge over the top by the spoonful, then drag a table knife or toothpick through the fudge to create orange-white swirls. You can spray your hands with nonstick cooking spray and gently press them into the top to smooth out the swirls, if desired.

7. Allow the fudge to set at room temperature for 2 hours, or in the refrigerator for 1 hour. To cut, pull the fudge out of the pan using the foil as handles. Use a large sharp knife to cut the fudge into small 1-inch squares. Store Orange Creamsicle Fudge in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to a week, and bring it to room temperature to serve.

The orange extract added an awesome flavor to this.  Instead of using the food coloring, I found some food gel.  It had the orange color I needed and didn’t have to count the yellow and red drops!  Much easier.

These may not have given me the sugar rush I needed to wake myself up but it was sure good to eat.  I loved that orange flavor.  It really does taste like a creamsicle.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source:

About.com

Leave a Reply

