Marian’s Pumpkin Bars

My mom makes THE best pumpkin bars.  Every time our family gets together, it’s Craig’s hope that she will make them.  His birthday was earlier this month and my mom came over to go to Brooklyn’s soccer game.  Craig was at work and when he walked in the door my mom handed him a plate of bars.  The look on his face…1. I’m not sharing these and 2. he was so happy that she made them for him.  She handed him a gift bag.  He opened and it there was a gift card for Home Depot.  He thought he was done and said thanks to my mom.   She looked at him and told him that there was something more in the bag.  Craig pulled out a piece of paper with a cute ribbon wrapped around it.  It was my mom’s recipe for his favorite pumpkin bars.

I think my mom got this recipe years ago from someone in our family.  But Craig made these last night and even though I was trying to give suggestions along the way, he pretty much did this the way my mom’s recipe called for.

I tasted the pumpkin batter before it went in the oven and it was pretty good.  I know there was some tension on Craig to make these as well as my mom did!!

In the pan goes into the oven.  We even debated on how long it should bake for.  Why?  Well because my mom failed to put this on her recipe!  So once we got it (ok I had to leave it to him) baked through, out it came!

Next was the best part…the frosting,  Reading the directions, Craig followed them as my mom had it down.  No more, no less.  When it was mixed to his liking, he asked me to taste it.  Well duh, who doesn’t love butter mixed with cream cheese and 4 cups of powder sugar!!  Tasted good, but I told him it was a bit too thin.  I told him I would add more powder sugar so that it would thicken up a bit.

When he started to frost the cake it was a bit too warm.  I told him that he needed to wait, but I think my directions were starting to work his nerves.  He stepped away from the pan with just a bit of frosting on it.  As I came in to get water (duh check on the pan!!).  It had melted a bit.  He did wait until it cooled off completely then used just a portion of the frosting.  He asked me what to do with the rest of it.  Well hello, use it all.  My mom does, why wouldn’t he!

I still think the frosting needed a bit more powder sugar added to it so it would thicken up a bit, but since the recipe didn’t call for it, it wasn’t added.

My mom just so happened to call me today and I mentioned the frosting to her.  She laughed and asked why he didn’t just add more.  Laughed even harder when I told her that her recipe didn’t say to do so, so he didn’t listen to me!!!  That had us both laughing!

I did ask mom’s permission to give this out.  She said she didn’t care so here it is.

Use a 9×13 jelly roll pan, greased and floured (we used a plain pan)

4 eggs

1 can pumpkin

2 cups sugar

1 cup butter

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

(Optional 2 cups walnuts)

Beat eggs, butter and sugar.  Add pumpkin and stir.  Put dry ingredients together and mix with pumpkin batter.

(Optional add nuts)

Put into greased & floured pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Frosting:  Beat until soft.

8oz Cream Cheese

3/4 stick butter

1 tbs milk

1 tbs vailla

4 cups powder sugar.

Well  I can tell you that this pan of pumpkin bars will not last through the rest of this week.  And I can tell you that this will be made many, many times.

Thanks mom!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source:

My mom!! 😉

8 thoughts on “Marian’s Pumpkin Bars

  1. So nice to have family recipes, but it’s always hard to get them to turn out as well as the original person who created and perfected the recipe. I love pumpkin bars and just posted some of my own today 🙂

  2. ESTHER says:

    I can not wait to try these pumpkin bars. What size can of pumpkin should I use?
    I have 17 grandchildren and 2 great grandchildren. So many love pumpkin! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

