Chicken Burgers

I go on my healthy kick of trying to eat low fat low sugar “diet” to saying I’ll just have it all in moderation to just eating what I want.  And by that I mean 6-7 freezies each night that I’m sure are packed with tons of sugar!!!   And I know that my body can sure tell when I’ve eaten something that I shouldn’t be eating.  Having my once a week Zantigo’s has slowed down a bit, but that was pretty much all I had that wasn’t the greatest for me.  I use low fat foods, I try to look at labels when buying food, but sometimes that candy bar is too good to pass up.  Or the new M&Ms that are out for Halloween…who can pass those up?

Well it’s time to get myself back on track.  I did a search for low fat/low sugar dinners and came up with this chicken burger.  I know chicken burgers can be “boring” or even a bit on the dry side.  But this recipe added some egg whites and bread crumbs to keep it moist.  I changed up a few things on the recipe to our family’s liking, but this is pretty good and great flavor.  I topped it with some low fat cheese, and pickles.  I also used an Everything Thin Bagel so it cut down a bit too for me.

Since we have soccer and football tonight I got this made during my 15 minute afternoon break. So that tells you how hard it was to get prepared and made!  No excuses.

Ingredients

16 ounces extra lean ground chicken breast
1 egg white
2 tablespoons chopped parsley
1/2 chopped white onion
1/4 cup whole-wheat breadcrumbs
2 tablespoons low-sodium BBQ sauce (try Chef Meg’s Sweet and Spicy Barbecue Sauce*) (I used whatever BBQ sauce on hand)
2 tablespoons plain low-fat yogurt
2 cups arugula, chopped – left this off because the kids won’t like it – too spicy!
4 whole-wheat sandwich thins or buns – I used the Everything Thin Bagel.
Place the ground chicken, egg white, breadcrumbs, parsley,  onions, and spices in a mixing bowl. Gently knead to combine. Form into four burgers.

Preheat a nonstick skillet or cast iron pan. Spray with nonstick cooking spray. Grill burgers 12-14 minutes, turning halfway through cooking, or until the internal temperature reaches 180 degrees Fahrenheit.

Combine yogurt with the barbecue sauce. Place a burger on a sandwich thin, add your favorite toppings that are low in fat!!

I got some kidney beans and a can of corn and mixed those together for us to eat as a side.  Loaded with fiber!  The kids may prefer a bag of chips to the bean mix, but they do like it!!!

Enjoy!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source:

Sparkle

Leave a Reply

