BBQ Crescent Roll-Ups

 Do you ever have those days where you’re gotten up before the sun comes up (on a weekend???), been to a football game and had soccer practice by 1pm and still have kids that  are glued to your side?  What can we do Nana?  Well, we went for a walk.  That’s what we did.  It’s an 80 degree day here in MN and that won’t last much longer.

Caleb asked to where his roller blades (what was I thinking when I agreed??) and Brooklyn wanted to walk Coco.  Off we go.  We’ve got Radio Disney blaring from my iPhone and the wind blowing in our face keeping us cool.  What more could we want?

Well, let me tell you.  Not even 3 blocks from home Caleb started complaining that his back hurt.  He wanted to stop.  No.  We had more than a mile and a half to go on our walk.  I kid you not, that boy started telling me every dang two feet how bad his back hurt.  All I could say was: “Sorry bud, keep going!”  At the mile marker he was crying because now his feet hurt and he needed to sit.  “Sorry bud, keep going.”  After the next block the boy began to cry harder (this is why I take my walks during my work day…alone…so I can dislike them in peace – and I certainly don’t mean to sound rude about my grand babies – but they worked me today).  Finally I stopped and had him take off his blades and walk the rest of the way home in his socks.

By this time I’ve got one mad at me walking really far in front of me, and the other one crying because his feet and back hurt (which is why he hasn’t gotten to wear these things on a walk before)!

Anyways.  So we’re home.  I’m hot, the house is hotter.  I turn on the air and think what am I going to make for these kids?   I think….think….Oh, I remember seeing these BBQ Crescent Roll-Ups on Pillsbury site.  I just so happen to have a package of the Lloyd’s BBQ Beef in the fridge.  I turned on the oven, got my crescent rolls out and started putting these together.

Brooklyn came in the kitchen to ask for help.  Normally I welcome the kids in the kitchen.  But remember?  I’m hot and now crabby from the walk that was supposed to be enjoyable.  She looks at what I’m making and said:  “What is that?   Ick, that looks gross!”  As to which I thought, shux, you’ll be eating this for dinner!

So… I used:

2 packages of crescent rolls (I used fat free)

1 container of Lloyds BBQ shredded beef

shredded cheddar cheese – some got mozzarella cheese

Olive Oil cooking spray

1.  Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet (I lined mine with aluminum foil) with Olive Oil Cooking spray.

2.  Unroll the crescent rolls and place a spoonful of the meat on the long edge of the roll and sprinkle with the cheese.

3. Roll the crescent roll up and spray each one with the spray.

4.  Cooking in the oven until each roll is light brown.

You’ll never guess what Brooklyn said after eating this!!  “Wow, this is pretty good!”  Yep, the kids know how to push the buttons!

Quick, easy, not bad at all.  Now it’s 7pm and I’ve told the kids to go outside and play.  The house is quiet.  For at least the next 15 minutes.

(Do you remember being a kid – for those of you that grew up in the 70s and 80s – playing outside all day until dinner?  No cell phones, no way for mom to text you to find out where you were.  You just went out and played.  Because there wasn’t 500 channels on tv – nor did we have flat screen tvs to watch in different rooms throughout the house in case someone was using the other one –  or 5 different types of video games.  Memories are what those days are!!!)

Have a great week.  Even though today has been a button pushing day for Nana, never go a day without cherishing those that you love.  Time goes by way too fast.  Gone are the 70s.  We’re in 2012 where iPhones and Macbooks rule the world (yep, I had to go there)!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

