Chinese Pie w/Biscuits

I have a friend that I work with and we share recipes quite often.  She shows me new blogs that she has found or sends me something that she’s made that she’s eaten since a child but made some changes to.

This one is one that Heidi said she’s had since she was a little kid growing up.  She just made some changes to it by adding cheese.  Yep, cheese.  Adding cheese is a good thing.  Ok well maybe not for everyone, but all things in moderation.

I’m also trying to find ways to cut my weekly cost in grocery bills down a lot.  We compared her dinners for the week, she gave me what she is buying and then told me how much she spent.  I thought, well it can’t hurt to try and reduce it and introduce new foods to the family.

This was a simple meal to put together.  And there is nothing better than that.

Here’s what I used:

1lb ground turkey

1 can creamed corn

sliced Velveeta cheese

Mashed potatoes (I used a store bought container of loaded potatoes!!)

Onion salt, salt & pepper, garlic salt to taste

Here’s what I did.

Turn oven on to broil (high).

Cook the ground turkey until browned.  Add the seasonings and taste to your liking.  When the meat is cooked through add to a casserole dish and top with slices of Velveeta cheese.   Then pour the cream corn over the cheese (Heidi makes everything warm/hot when adding to the meat).  After the corn, spread the potatoes over the corn and spread to cover.

Cook in the oven just long enough to get the potatoes browned.  When serving the dinner, spoon onto plate upside down so the potatoes are on the bottom.

This was pretty good.  And it was easy enough to make.  The kids loved it and that means we can have it again!  They also put some on their biscuits and ate it like a sandwich.  That was a great idea.  I did it then too!

Have a great week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source:

My Friend Heidi

Leave a Reply

