Asian Chicken

It’s been so hot almost every single day for who knows how long.  As I’ve said, some love the heat, some don’t.  I don’t mind being hot, but I do not like to sweat when I walk out on the deck to grill.  But last night we got some rain which cooled the heat dow to the high 80s today!  Woo hoo, time to grill some chicken.

I got this recipe from My Baking Addiction earlier this past weekend for my meal this week.  This recipe was kebabs but I only had the wooden sticks and I’ve had bad luck with getting the meat off the stick without getting splinters left on me or the chicken.  So I just made the same recipe, changed a couple of things and grilled it!

Great flavor.  Super tender.  One of my favorite scents is fresh ginger root.  Love it.

I would have loved to have had this with some potatoes and some purple onions! Hmmmm, that would be a good salad combo!!

INGREDIENTS:

1/4 cup soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2 tablespoons honey (I did not have honey and I used Maple Syrup)
1-2 teaspoons Sriracha (or other hot sauce)- (I used Franks Hot sauce)
3 slices fresh ginger root
2 cloves garlic, crushed

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

DIRECTIONS:

1. In a small microwave-safe bowl, combine the soy sauce, oil, honey, Sriracha, ginger root, and garlic. Heat in microwave on medium for 1 minute, then stir. Heat again for 30 seconds, watch closely so it doesn’t boil. Set aside.

2.  Dip each chicken breast into the marinade and set in the fridge for 3 hours.  If you don’t have 3 hours, just prepare and soak as long as you can.  I didn’t have 3 hours but the flavor was still pretty good.

3. Prepare barbecue (medium-high heat). Grill Asian Chicken breasts until chicken is just cooked through, turning occasionally, about 9-12 minutes.

Served this with a side of rice and some corn on the cob. Quick and easy summer grilled dinner.

Have a great week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

