Mini Chicken Pot Pies

Can you believe we are half way through the month of July?  Maybe it’s just me and life has been so busy that time is going faster than I can keep up with.  Summer is  in it’s rare form here in MN.  It’s been so hot here I can’t even stand to go outside.  And normally I wouldn’t complain because I dislike winter more than I dislike 99 degrees with hot sticky humidity  that prevents you from going outside.  In fact I feel like I’ve been stuck inside through the seasons.

I haven’t made many summer meals at all.  We’ve grilled some chicken or brats and burgers, but nothing really to be writing about.  Why?  Well because I forget to put something on my feet when I go on the deck and I burn them because it’s scolding hot.  A bit over dramatic?  I think not.  It has been hot hot hot here.

So I sit in my house with the air going and turning on the oven to make dinner and desserts because it’s better than going outside to sweat the moment the air hits my face.

I love things that you can create to be mini anything.  Mini pies, mini cakes, why…mini pot pies of course!!  These were really easy to make.  I think next time I may use cut up chicken and frozen corn and beans to add to the rolls instead of the soup.  Not that the soup was bad in it, I just felt like there wasn’t much to the inside of my mini pie.  I loved the flavor of the bread.  Using the Italian dressing with the olive oil spray on top added a burst of flavor.

Both of the kids ask what’s for dinner when they wake up in the morning.  And I do believe they do so just so they can say “gross”, I’m not eating that.   At times I will let them make a sandwich instead of having what I make.  But today I decided this is nothing they can’t try.  They WILL like it.  And I was right.  Brooklyn ate four mini pot pies and Caleb ate three of them.  Gross huh…kids…..

Comfort food in July..

Ingredients

1 can (16.3 oz) Pillsbury® Grands!® Flaky Layers refrigerated original biscuits
1 can (19 oz) Progresso® Traditional chicken noodle soup
1 to 2 tablespoons butter (I used olive oil cooking spray)
1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (1 oz)
  • 1  Heat oven to 375°F. Lightly spray 8 (2 1/4×1 1/4-inch) muffin cups with nonstick cooking spray. Separate dough into 8 biscuits; separate each biscuit into 2 layers. Place 8 biscuit halves in sprayed muffin cups, pressing to cover bottom and sides.
  • 2  Drain soup; store in tightly covered container in refrigerator or freezer for later use. Spoon drained soup evenly into biscuit-lined cups. Place remaining biscuit halves over soup; gently seal each biscuit.
  • 3  Spread biscuit tops with butter (I used olive oil spray). Sprinkle with Italian seasoning and garlic powder. Top each with 1/2 tablespoon cheese.
  • 4  Bake at 375°F. for 15 to 18 minutes or until edges are golden brown. To remove from pan, run knife around edge of pies.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source:

Pillsbury

Leave a Reply

