Apple Cheesecake

I have always admitted that baking is my weak spot.  I am getting better and braver as time goes on, and I will usually go to one of my favorite blogs to find something to make.  But I decided to make something very simple on my own.  Everyone loves cheesecake in our house, so I thought that would be the easiest thing to try.

I’m going to say that this was one of the worst looking pies we’ve seen in our house.  BUT it was one of the best tasting too!!!!!  I was afraid to blog it at first because my pictures were a bit scary to me, but I thought I have to share the good with the bad.  And Craig said so himself, it looks so gross, but it tastes super good!!  So here it is.  My first super easy pie that I put together.

What I used:

1 pre-made graham cracker pie crust

1 80z cream cheese (I used 1/3 less fat)

1 egg – 1 egg white

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp almond extract

1 can apple pie filling

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

4 tbs unsalted butter

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground cloves

What to do:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  In a mixing bowl, add the cream cheese and sugar until mixed together.  Add one egg at a time until blended well.   Add the Almond Extract and mix.  Add cream cheese filling to a pie pan.

In a medium sized bowl add the apple pie filling, the cinnamon and ground cloves and combine together.  Pour over the cream cheese filling.

In a small bowl combine the brown sugar, flour and butter until you get a crumble.  Put pieces of the crumble over the top of the pie and bake for 30-35 minutes or until cream cheese is set.

I think I should have baked the cream cheese filling for a bit before adding the apple filling and the crumble to the top.  The cream cheese started to rise a bit too much and I took it out before the center was firm.  I did set it in the fridge over night and it did firm up.  The cloves added such a good flavor to the apples.

I’m glad I gave this a try.  I was so nervous as first trying to come up with something that wasn’t in a cook book or from another blog.  And I’m sure there is something similar out there to this, but I can actually say I sure made this up and it was good.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

