Chicken Taquitos

I love Mexican food.  We have tacos once a week.  I try to visit my favorite Mexican American restaurant Zantigo as often as I can (which is not as often anymore).  And since I’m all about trying to find new things to make, I thought about these tasty taquitos.  Usually you can get these as an appetizer, but I made quite a few of them so that we could have them as our dinner and dip them in salsa.

1/3 cup (3 ounces) cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup green salsa

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

3 Tablespoons fresh or dried cilantro

2 cups diced cooked chicken

1 cup grated mozzarella

16 flour tortillas

kosher salt

(optional) sour cream and guacamole as topping

 

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil and lightly coat with cooking spray.

Heat cream cheese in the microwave for about 30 seconds so it’s soft and easy to stir. Add green salsa, lime juice, cumin, chili powder, onion powder and garlic powder and mix well. Add cilantro, green onions, chicken and pepperjack cheese and combine well

Place 3 Tablespoons of chicken mixture on the lower third of a tortilla and roll tortilla up as tight as you can.

Place tortillas seam side down on the baking sheet. Spray the tops of the tortillas lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle some kosher salt on top.

Place in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes or tortilla start to turn golden brown. Makes around 16 taquitos.

I added sour cream, onions, and salsa to mine.  I would have made some black beans as a side with these, but I’m afraid I would have been the only one eating them.  So I let the kids have some Doritos with theirs.  (Craig may not have been a fan, but he did eat them!!).

I thought the flavor was great.  I’d make these again any day!  Good for a get together….hmmmm we’re having a pot luck at work this month!!!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 🙂

Source:

Our Best Bites

Leave a Reply

