Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

Last week I made my favorite ice cream, Butter Brickle. Since it was so delicious, this sparked a conversation in my house about everyone else’s favorite ice cream. Scott’s favorite is cookies and cream; and since it’s one of my favorites too, he didn’t have to push too hard to get me to try my hand at making it. My first batch didn’t come together as I had hoped. I think I was over-eager to get the ice cream! Maybe the bowl didn’t freeze long enough, or maybe the batter wasn’t cold enough…maybe both. I ended up with soup instead of ice cream. This didn’t stop me for long though. I got the ice cream maker bowl back in the freezer for a couple of days and made sure I cooled the batter in the fridge overnight for my second try. Success!

Recipe:
From Annie’s Eats

INGREDIENTS

1 cup whole milk
2 cups heavy whipping cream
6 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
15-20 Oreo cookies, coarsely chopped

DIRECTIONS

  • Combine the milk and cream in a saucepan over medium heat.  Heat until bubbles form around the edges.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and sugar until smooth and well combined.  Slowly add the warm milk mixture to the egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly to prevent curdling.
  • Pour the mixture back into the saucepan.   Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, about 5-8 minutes, until the mixture is thickened and coats the back of a spoon (about 175 degrees F on an instant read thermometer).  Pour the liquid through a fine mesh sieve into a bowl.  Stir in the vanilla extract.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator until completely chilled.
  • Once the mixture is well chilled, pour into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  Once the mixture is softly frozen, transfer half of it to a storage container.  Add half of the chopped Oreo pieces and fold in gently with a rubber spatula.  Add the remaining ice cream and Oreo pieces to the container, and fold once more until the mixture is evenly combined.  Freeze until completely hardened.

This ice cream was totally worth the wait! It’s a great treat to end to these very hot summer days we’ve been having. Sweet and creamy, a good mix of big and small chunks of Oreos. It freezes up very firm, so we have to let it sit out a bit to get our scoops out. I prefer my ice cream this way, but Scott prefers his ice cream softer – almost melty. Since this one is his favorite flavor I might have to try again with a softer base next time.

What’s your favorite flavor?

– Jodi

Leave a Reply

