Brownie Batter Truffles

Truffles, truffles and more truffles.  I love them.  I have always loved them.  I love having that surprise when you bite into it and get the soft, melt in your mouth chocolate!  When Craig asked what I was making he asked why I had to make something with chocolate in it.  He’s not a huge fan.  But I actually made these for ME!  Yep, call me selfish, but I love them so much and I’m not so sure that I mind if anyone else likes them!!  Shame on me I suppose.

Super easy to make.  Even easier to eat.  Just look at them!  The intent was to have the kids help me with these but they were in their bicker battle mode today and I had to ask them to leave the kitchen.  I did let them have one though!!!!

I stuck these in the fridge after dipping them in the coating because I prefer to have my candy chocolate cold.  This was a perfect way to end a week that has had some bumps in the road from Sunday to Friday!

I’ve been suffering from a pretty bad migraine for the past two days.  But when you have work and kids to take care, life still goes on.  Kids still want treats to eat.  A blog must filled!  Chocolate is a huge trigger for my headaches.  Not just a trigger, but if I eat it when I have a headache, it gets worse.  But I can say that I was looking forward to making these since I got the post from Confession of a Cookbook Queen!  Fabulouso!  I had some extra candy coating left so I grabbed a bag of pretzels and coated those as well.  Hate to say this, but the taste reminded me of Christmas!

So I sit on my couch with the side of my head throbbing, but I’m ready to get up and have another one as soon as I’m done typing this.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 stick butter (1/2 cup), melted
  • 1/2 lb chocolate almond bark or candy coating (I used CandiQuik Vanilla Flavored candy coating)
  • Sprinkles for garnish

INSTRUCTIONS

1.  In a medium sized bowl, combine cocoa powder, flour, and sugar.  Mix well.  Add melted butter and vanilla and stir until a thick batter is formed.

2.  Line a cookie sheet with wax paper.  Roll the dough into balls (or alternatively, use a small cookie scoop instead) and place on wax paper.  Refrigerate one hour to firm.

3.  Melt almond candy coating according to package directions.  Dip truffles in the melted candy, allowing excess to drip off.  Sprinkle with sprinkles before chocolate sets.  Let chocolate firm before serving.

Notes:

Makes 20 – 24 truffles

Happy Candy making!!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source

Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

Leave a Reply

