Strawberry Marshmallow Pie

I do believe I found my favorite pie!  I always say I’m not much of a “sweets” eater, and I’m not for the most part.  I can take it or leave it.  But I’ve also said I don’t have to worry so much about what to make with desserts or treats because it’ll get eaten (usually).

This will so not even come close to be a “good for you” sort of pie.  I did use fat free cream cheese and there are fresh strawberries.  But the marshmallow cream is what does it.  It added THE best flavor to this pie by far.

INGREDIENTS

1 box Pillsbury® refrigerated pie crusts, softened as directed on box
2 packages (8 oz each) cream cheese, softened
1 jar (13 oz) marshmallow creme
4 cups sliced fresh strawberries
1 container (12 to 14 oz) strawberry pie glaze

DIRECTIONS

1 Heat oven to 450°F. Make 1 pie crust as directed on box for One-Crust Baked Shell using 9-inch glass pie plate. Bake 9 to 11 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.
2 Unroll remaining pie crust on work surface. With desired cookie cutters, cut shapes from crust. Place on ungreased cookie sheet; bake 6 to 8 minutes or until light brown. Cool.
3 In medium bowl, beat cream cheese with electric mixer on high speed until light and fluffy. Stir in marshmallow creme. In large bowl, mix strawberries and pie glaze. Reserve 1 cup strawberry mixture; set aside. Spoon about 1/3 of the marshmallow mixture into pie crust; top with remaining strawberry mixture, and the remaining 2/3 marshmallow mixture. Top with 1 cup reserved strawbery mixture. Arrange cut outs over filling. Cover; refrigerate at least 8 hours or until set but not firm. Store covered in refrigerator.
**This strawberry pie recipe by Joyce Gaddie of Clinton, Tennessee, won 1st Place at the Pillsbury Refrigerated Pie Crust Pie Baking Championship, 2009 Tennessee Valley Fair.
Garnish with three miniature marshmallows on top of each slice, if desired.
So the waiting part.  Yeah, not so good with that.  I let it sit for….oh two hours.  I had to take my pictures first and then cut a piece.  When the directions say wait for 8 hours, it does need to wait for 8 hours.  However, I didn’t mind one bit that it wasn’t set when I ate it.   I decided then that this was my favorite pie!!!
Loved, loved, loved it.
Patricia – Two Girls Cooking  😉
Source:

 

Leave a Reply

