Butter Brickle Ice Cream

Ever since it started getting warm out I’ve been craving ice cream. It’s pretty rare, though, for me to find my favorite flavor, Butter Brickle. It’s a very simple flavor: creamy, buttery ice cream with bits of crunchy toffee. I don’t know why I never see it in the stores anymore. I get a little too excited when they happen to have some at my favorite local ice cream shop. I finally decided it was time to try to make some on my own. This recipe was one of the only ones I could find, so I’m very glad it turned out to be just what I was craving!

Ingredients:

2 cups half-and-half
1 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 teaspoons butter flavor extract
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups whipping cream
3/4 cup toffee pieces (I used Health Bits o’Brickle)

Directions:
In a medium saucepan, combine half & half, brown sugar, and butter.
Stir constantly over low heat.
When mixture becomes bubbly around the edges of the pan, remove from heat. (This never really got bubbly around the edges for me, I just went until it started to bubble)
Chill this mixture along with the bowl of your ice cream freezer.
Before freezing, add whipping cream and both extracts, mix well.Freeze according to your ice cream maker directions.
Add toffee bits after freezing process.

 

This was very rich and creamy, you can really taste the butter flavor. I wasn’t sure I wanted to share this because it was so good! I did share with my husband and my mom, and we even let Sam have a little taste. Everyone really enjoyed it. The only problem I found was that 1 quart didn’t last long!

– Jodi

Leave a Reply

