Peanut Butter Cups

Here’s another post I found on one of my favorite blogs from The Brown Eyed Baker…Peanut Butter Cups.  I had actually planned on making these for Christmas last year but…well I’m not sure what happened.  I’m just now getting around to making them and I am so glad that I did.

Just like everyone has a favorite color, most people also have a favorite candy bar.  I can say that I rotate my favorite depending on what kind of mood I’m in for that week.  One week it’ll be Peanut M&Ms and the next week it’ll be Twix or Heath candy bars.  But one of my all time favorites is the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  When the kids go trick or treating for Halloween, they know to take those out of their bucket and either hide them from me or just give them over right away.

So when I saw her post for this, I knew at some point I was going to have to try them.  There are certain things that you just can’t eat one of no matter how hard you try.  For me, these were it.  I made them later in the evening last night and again, the hardest part is the waiting you have to go through when it has to harden in the fridge.  My fingers poke in there numerous times to see if they are done.  Then a minute goes by and I have to at least see if it’s done.  Of course it’s not.  Ten minutes does not by any means come close to 30 minutes it’s supposed to sit in the dang fridge!!!

And when that time finally did pass, I had to have a least four of them to make sure that they were good.  Duh.  How else was I supposed to share if I wasn’t absolutely sure they were good to go!!!!

Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

Yield: About 3 dozen peanut butter cups

Prep Time: 45 minutes | Chill Time: 1 hour, total

1 cups creamy peanut butter
¼ cup unsalted butter
¼ cup light brown sugar
1¼ cups powdered sugar
4 cups milk chocolate chips (two 11.5-oz bags)
¼ cup vegetable shortening

1. Line a mini-muffin tin with paper liners; set aside. Line a baking with parchment paper; set aside.

2. In a medium saucepan, combine the peanut butter, butter and brown sugar over medium heat. Heat until completely melted and starting to bubble a little, stirring constantly. Remove from the heat. Add the powdered sugar a ¼ cup at a time, stirring until completely combined with the peanut butter mixture after each addition. Set aside and let cool.

3. Meanwhile, melt the chocolate chips and shortening together in the microwave on 50% power in 30-second increments, until completely melted, stirring after each burst.

4. Using a small cookie scoop or a couple of teaspoons, spoon melted chocolate into the bottom of each lined muffin cup.

5. Use a heaping teaspoon to scoop out the peanut butter mixture. Roll it into a ball, and then flatten it slightly into a disk. Place on the prepared baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Once finished with all of the peanut butter mixture, refrigerate both the muffin tins and the peanut butter patties for about 30 minutes.

6. Place a peanut butter patty on top of each chocolate-lined muffin tin. Then use a scoop or spoon to add more melted chocolate on top and around each peanut butter patty. (If the melted chocolate firmed up, just pop it back into the microwave at 50% power for 30 seconds or so to re-melt.)

7. Refrigerate again for 30 minutes, then they’re ready to serve! Store in the refrigerator or freezer. You can keep at room temperature in an airtight container if you’re going to serve them the same day, but they’ll start to get soft if not at cool room temperature.

The only thing I did have to do was add a bit more powdered sugar to the peanut butter mixture to get it thick enough to roll into a small ball.  Other than that, these little bundles of heaven in my mouth are to simply die for.  Anyone that loves Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, HAS to try these.

I had some extra peanut butter mixture left over so I used a small bag of white chocolate chips and made more!  Love, love, love these!

Thank you, thank you for sharing these..

Have an awesome week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source:

Brown Eyed Baker

 

Leave a Reply

