Double Strawberry Smoothie Pie

Pies are pretty much a good bet that it’ll be liked AND eaten at our house.  Banana cream pie is the favorite.  Dutch Apple Pie is close second.  Everyone has been enjoying the smoothies lately so I thought I’d give this pie a try. (Hey that rhymed  – yep dork I am)

I’ve also been trying to find desserts and meals that can be made during my lunch break with the lack of time at night we have now.  And I’ll admit, I used a store bought pie crust.  Not because I didn’t want to make it, just trying to save time.  After I bought this I saw a recipe on Betty Crocker that had used the Dulce de Leche Cheerios as a pie crust instead of the graham cracker crust.  So I am wishing I would have just made one now!  There will be another next time I’m sure 😉

Again, the hardest part for me is sitting here waiting to see if it turned out good before anyone gets home.  OR that someone takes a piece out before I get to take a pix for our blog.  No names shall be mentioned here.

Pie Crust:

  • 1¼ cups graham cracker crumbs (about 12 squares)
  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed or wheat germ
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1 egg white, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil

Pie Filling:

  • 1½ cups frozen strawberries, thawed
  • 1 cup 100% cranberry strawberry or cranberry raspberry juice, divided
  • 2 envelopes unflavored gelatin
  • 3/4 cup strawberry low-fat yogurt
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • Light whipped cream, optional

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. For the pie crust, stir together the graham cracker crumbs, flaxseed, sugar, egg white, butter, and canola oil in a large bowl until well combined.
  2. Using the back of a large spoon or your fingers, press the crumb mixture firmly on the bottom and up the sides of a 9-inch pie plate. Bake about 8 minutes (the color of the crust won’t change). Cool before filling.
  3. Meanwhile, in a blender, blend together the strawberries and ½ cup of the juice until smooth. Pour into a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Stir occasionally to break up any frothy bubbles
  4. Place the remaining ½ cup juice in a large bowl. Sprinkle the gelatin over the juice and let stand 1 minute. Add the hot juice mixture and stir, or gently whisk, until the gelatin completely dissolves, about 5 minutes. Stir in the yogurt and sugar.
  5. Pour the mixture into the prepared pie crust. Refrigerate until firm, about 3 hours. Serve with light whipped cream as desired.
I left the ingredients and how to for the pie crust in case you want to make home made.
This is a light and refreshing pie.  Not to sweet for me!  (I’m not huge on sweets – give me candy though!)  I can eat a piece and be okay.

Nutrition Information per Serving (1 slice): 180 calories, 6g fat (1.5g saturated, 0.5g omega-3), 130mg sodium, 29g carbohydrate, 1g fiber, 4g protein, 20% vitamin C

Have a great day.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source:

Meal Makeover Moms

2 thoughts on “Double Strawberry Smoothie Pie

Leave a Reply

