Chicken Parmesan Bundles

I do try my best to get the veggies in our meal the best I can.  If it’s not corn or beans, they don’t want it.  So when I see something that calls for spinach, I know I have to find a way to incorporate it in such a way that they won’t either notice or what’s on top or mixed with it adds flavor to it.

Fortunately for me, we had soccer that night and Craig and Caleb were left to eat this without me being here and being able to ask what the green stuff is.  Not sure if Caleb asked Craig and Craig knew or not.  I do know that when I got home, Caleb asked what that green stuff was in the chicken.  When I asked if he liked it, he said it was ok.  I chose not to ask Craig.  He typically eats it!!!

What you need:

4 oz. (1/2 of 8-oz. pkg.) PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened

1 pkg. (10 oz.) frozen chopped spinach, thawed, well drained

1-1/4 cups KRAFT Shredded Low-Moisture Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese, divided

6 Tbsp. KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese, divided

6 small boneless skinless chicken breast halves (1-1/2 lb.), pounded to 1/4-inch thickness

1 egg

10 RITZ Crackers, crushed (about 1/2 cup)

1-1/2 cups spaghetti sauce, heated
Make it:

1. Heat oven to 375ºF. Mix cream cheese, spinach, 1 cup mozzarella and 3 Tbsp. Parmesan until well blended; spread onto chicken breasts. Starting at one short end of each breast, roll up chicken tightly. Secure with wooden toothpicks, if desired.

2. Beat egg in shallow dish. Mix remaining Parmesan and cracker crumbs in separate shallow dish. Dip chicken in egg, then roll in crumb mixture to evenly coat. Place, seam-sides down, in 13×9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.

3. Bake 30 min. or until chicken is done (165ºF). Remove and discard toothpicks, if using. Serve chicken topped with spaghetti sauce and remaining mozzarella.

Brooklyn and I loved it.  I put some spaghetti under the chicken and it filled us right up.  Of course we hadn’t eaten since lunch and it was after 7pm and we were hungry.  I did not get any complaints from Brooklyn about it.  She wanted more!

I guess the boys in our house just can’t appreciate good chicken with hidden spinach!!!  Ok so it wasn’t hidden very well..

Have an awesome day.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source

Big Fork Little Fork

Leave a Reply

