Dulce de Leche Cheerio Bars

I’ve been going back and forth with my recipe finds from Betty Crocker to Pillsbury and also Big Fork Little Fork.  This one caught my eye on Betty Crocker’s site.
I have never been one to eat sweets very often.  But it is much easier for me to find treats that the family will eat over dinners that I have to rack my brain to find something everyone enjoys.
When the kids see a treat, they’ll at least try it.  When they see broccoli on their plate, I don’t get the same response.  When they saw the Marshmallow Truffles in the fridge before breakfast, they asked for one.  How often am I going to get that for dinner?  Not that often.  And don’t get me wrong, I do make them eat those things they don’t like.   It is much easier for me to find something fun for them and myself to bake and blog and also eat at the same time.
Oh, I’ll still be blogging meals, because I do have new ones every week.  Oh lets just move on shall we?
Here’s what you need:
1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/2 cup finely chopped pecans
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 1/2 cups Dulce de Leche Cheerios® cereal
1 cup coarsely crushed pretzels
1 cup white vanilla baking chips (6 oz)
1 cup milk chocolate chips (6 oz) (I used 2 cups of white vanilla baking chips)
1 cup coconut
1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated)
  1. Heat oven to 350°F. In medium bowl, mix cracker crumbs, pecans and melted butter. Press in bottom of ungreased 13×9-inch pan.
  2. Sprinkle cereal and pretzels over crust. Layer vanilla chips, chocolate chips and coconut over pretzels. Pour condensed milk evenly over top.
  3. Bake 25 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely, about 45 minutes. For bars, cut into 5 rows by 4 rows. Store covered at room temperature.

I can’t believe I have to wait 45 minutes for these to cool off first.  I lack patience at certain things.  Ok at most things, but waiting to taste something drives me bonkers.  I try to hold out and end up trying it before I should have!

  I wonder what the kids will chose for a snack today after school?  An apple, a marshmallow truffle, or these nummy bars!

Here’s some Betty Crocker helpful tips:

To crush the pretzels, place in a food-storage plastic bag and crunch them with your hands.

To make cutting easier, you can line the pan with parchment or waxed paper extending over the sides of the pan. Then after baking, lift the bars from the pan and cut them on a cutting board.

Enjoy your week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Source

Betty Crocker

 

Leave a Reply

