French Dip Sandwich

Oh my gosh these sandwiches were good.  I love to have sandwiches for dinner.  They aren’t just for lunch!  Although I seem to eat an awful lot of salads for lunch.  Anyways, I found these online at Pillsbury site.  I doubled the recipe below to make sure it fed our family of four.  Soaking the meat in the soup was soooo good.  I was afraid the kids and Craig wouldn’t like it and would possibly like the soup on the side.  I took a chance and they all ate it.  They all wanted more.  I was glad I had some left over sliced turkey deli meat in the fridge so that I could have more! They were tiny little sandwiches (I don’t think I cut the dough correct).  But it didn’t matter, they turned out to be a great dinner.

In a rush or just want to try something fun for the family?  This is a good one.  I still can’t get over the flavor the soup added to the meat.  We will be having this again!

 

INGREDIENTS

1 can Pillsbury® refrigerated crusty French loaf
1 can (18.5 oz) Progresso® Vegetable Classics French onion soup
8 oz thinly sliced cooked deli roast beef

DIRECTIONS

1 Heat oven to 350°F. Lightly spray cookie sheet with cooking spray.
2 Cut loaf of dough crosswise into 4 pieces to make rolls. Place rolls seam sides down and 2 inches apart on cookie sheet. With sharp knife, cut 2 diagonal slashes, 1/2 inch deep, on top of each.
3 Bake 21 to 24 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 2 minutes.
4 Meanwhile, in 2-quart saucepan, mix soup and beef; heat to boiling. Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes.
5 With serrated knife, cut rolls in half horizontally. With slotted spoon, place beef and onions on bottom halves of rolls. Cover with top halves of rolls. Serve sandwiches with remaining warm soup for dipping.
Top beef on each sandwich with a slice of provolone cheese.
Have a great week and enjoy what you make in your kitchen!  And most of all, have fun!!!
Patricia – Two Girls Cooking
Source
2 thoughts on “French Dip Sandwich

  1. Brandy says:

    This recipe is very yummy! I have been making it for my family for a couple years & the kids ask for it…always a good review!

Leave a Reply

