Banana Cream Pie

One of the favorite pies in our house (not that I get to eat any) is banana cream pie.  I did some searching online and found some that made it from scratch and others that used the pudding mix.  I opted for the easy way this time.  It looks good, it was easy to make, and I’m hoping it tastes good as well.

Maybe after giving this one a try I’ll move on to the made from scratch one.   But after reading the site that I got this from, they are right.  Home made doesn’t always mean it’s better.  I’ve become comfortable with making home made cake mix and frosting but this pie just looked really good.  So here it is!  I hope my mister likes it as much as the one he gets from work!!

Banana Cream Pie

1 4-serving size box of instant chocolate or vanilla pudding
1 c. cold water
1 14-oz. can sweetened condensed milk
2 cookie crusts. You can use anything–graham crackers, Nilla Wafers, shortbread, even Oreo.
Lots of bananas
1 pint whipping cream
1/3 c. powdered sugar

In a medium bowl, combine pudding mix, cold water, and sweetened condensed milk. Mix well and place in the refrigerator to chill for a few minutes. In another bowl, whip 1 c. of whipping cream until soft peaks form.

Slice the bananas (probably 4 small bananas or 2 large bananas) and layer them on the bottom of the crusts. Be sure and save the plastic domes that come with the pie crusts–you’ll need them later! (I only used one pie crust!!)

Set aside. Remove pudding from the fridge and gently dollop the whipped cream on top of the pudding. Gently fold the whipped cream into the pudding mixture until well-combined.

Prepare sweetened whipped cream with the remaining whipping cream and 1/3 c. of powdered sugar and spread it on top of the two pies. (Again, I just used one pie).  Place the clear plastic shells back on the pies and allow to chill for several hours. This is actually really important–I tried eating it right away once and the pie wasn’t banana-y at all and the moisture hadn’t absorbed into the crust, so the crust just fell apart.

As I write this out, it sits in the fridge.  I’m debating on waiting or trying before Craig gets home!  Since I did make it for him I guess I’ll have to wait!!

(When I started making this I realized I left my camera on over night.  I had to use my iPhone for the pix since I made this on my lunch break today!!)

I got a piece – it’s pretty good.  Craig said the same thing (phew)!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking ; )

Source:

Our Best Bites

Leave a Reply

