California Chicken

Another chicken dinner.  This one had me wondering how many would eat the vegetables that went with this one.  I had a back up plan just in case, and I’m glad I did.

We had a busy night for us and I was in a rush to get this meal cooked.  I had gotten some corn on the cob just in case it was needed. Caleb is not a fan of broccoli and was not wanting to even try the “white stuff” as he called it.  I thought it was so good with the pesto mixed in with it.  One day the kids will grow up to like them, I just know it!

This was really easy to put together.  Not much fuss to go through at all.  When I cook chicken in a frying pan I like to flatten it out a bit so that it cooks through evenly.

This was something new for us that we haven’t tried, but nothing too fancy either.  May not have been a hit with the kids but it sure was with me.  The chicken was moist and tender.

what you need

4 small boneless skinless chicken breast halves (1 lb.)
3 cups frozen mixed vegetables (broccoli, red peppers and carrots), thawed, drained
1/4 cup pesto
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

make it

HEAT large skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cover. Cook 5 min. on each side or until lightly browned on both sides. ADD vegetables, pesto and water. Bring to boil. Cook on medium heat 6 to 8 min. or until chicken is done (165°F), stirring occasionally. SPRINKLE with cheese; cover. Remove from heat; let stand 5 min.

kraft kitchens tips

SUBSTITUTE
For a heartier dish, use a frozen vegetable mix containing beans or potatoes.
I found this to be pretty good. As I said, not a huge fan of the veggies, but I can’t win all of the time.  For those that don’t have picky eaters, this is for you.  Quick and easy to make.
Have a great day!
Patricia – Two Girls Cooking
Source:
Leave a Reply

