“Chinese Take-Out” Lemon Chicken

I’ve made Lemon Chicken before and I’ve certainly had it for take-out dinners as well.  When I saw the ingredients for this I had to give it a try.  It was the lemon flavored Jello that pulled me in.  I wonder if this was to make it more kid friendly?  Either way, I was definitely intrigued as to how this one would go.  Brooklyn was gone for the night so my only broccoli eating buddy was gone.  However, I knew I’d be safer with broccoli over sugar snap peas that this called for.  I seem to have to moderate most of the recipes I find (excluding the sweets of course), so I did leave the peppers out as well.

I love making chinese food at home because you can really control what goes into your meal.  I’ve said this before as well,  the chinese take out is known for the sodium content being sky high.  By making it at home you’ve got the control over what you want and don’t want to put in the dish.

I happen to love broccoli so I thought this was a pretty good substitute for the peas.  I would have eaten the peas and the peppers though too!  I can say that I am not a huge rice fan, but I did chose to eat it tonight to see how the chicken and rice combo tasted. I added just a touch of low sodium soy sauce to mine to give the rice a bit of flavor on top of the lemon.  This was a good dinner tonight.  I only got one complaint from Caleb, but I barely gave him the green stuff!  He only asked for more rice!

Pickiness aside, if you’re a chinese fan and love to cook at home, give this one a try.  I bet you’ll never guess where I got this recipe from!!!  Go ahead, give it a try!

What you need:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 pkg. (4-serving size) JELL-O Lemon Flavor Gelatin

1 Tbsp. cornstarch

1/2 cup chicken broth

2 Tbsp. KRAFT Zesty Italian Dressing

2 cloves garlic, minced

Make it:

1. Heat oil in large skillet on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 4 min. or until cooked through, stirring occasionally. Add snow peas and peppers; cook and stir 2 min.

2. Mix dry gelatin mix and cornstarch in small bowl. Add broth, dressing and garlic; stir until gelatin is dissolved. Add to skillet. Reduce heat to medium; cook 3 min. or until sauce is thickened, stirring frequently.

3. Serve over hot cooked rice, if desired.

I’ve got to say this had great flavor.  The chicken was moist and definitely carried the lemon flavor with the Jello (surprising to me).  So before you dial that phone and order your take out…give this a try.  I’ll think you’ll be pleasantly surprised and glad you did.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking  😉

Source

Big Fork Little Fork

5 thoughts on ““Chinese Take-Out” Lemon Chicken

  1. chae says:

    I found your website and I would really like to pin some of your recipes on pinterest but you don’t have a pin it button and I was wondering if there was any way you could add that to your website. You girls have some awesome recipes and i love to share recipes on pinterest. Thank you so much.
    Chae

Leave a Reply

