Mini Chimichangas

I love anything that has to do with eating Mexican food.  I could eat it daily.  Some people can’t live without sweet treats and or candy (candy is close for me) but I love the salty foods and Mexican food.  Love, love, love it.  Most people that know me, know that I love Zantigo. And one day I plan on opening one in our city.  And my son will work there along side of me!!!

Moving on to the recipe at hand here.  When I planned this weeks meal, I will say I used that dang app everyone must be tired of me talking about.   Typically we have taco Thursdays in our house. Why?  Well, Craig is not a taco fan and he used to bowl on those nights.  Well bowling season for him on that night is done.  So he either has to eat a sandwich or eat our mexican fiesta.  Instead of tacos, I found this recipe.  I turned it into mini chimi’s for one reason (well they were cute too) but because I bought the wrong size of tortilla shells!!

My co-worker asked me if I had baed these in the oven after spraying them with cooking spray instead of frying.  Well, I’ve had a rough week.  I felt like I needed to go with the good the bad and eat bad for the day.   Yep, I fried them in oil.  I did use the Omega 3 cooking oil, but none the less I still fried them in a pan.  And they were delicious!!!  Maybe next time we have this I’ll try it in the oven.

what you need

1 lb. ground turkey
1/2 cup finely chopped onions
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. dried oregano leaves
1 tsp. crushed red pepper
8 flour tortillas (6 inch)
6 oz. VELVEETA®, cut into 8 slices
2 cups oil
1/4 cup BREAKSTONE’S or KNUDSEN Sour Cream (use whichever brand you have on hand or buy)
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh cilantro

make it

BROWN meat in large skillet on medium-high heat; drain. Add onions, garlic, oregano and pepper; cook until onions are tender, stirring occasionally.

SPOON 1/4 cup meat mixture onto center of each tortilla; top with VELVEETA. Fold in all sides of tortillas to completely enclose filling; secure with wooden toothpicks. Place in single layer on baking sheet. Refrigerate 20 min.

HEAT oil in large saucepan on medium-high heat. Add chimichangas, 2 at a time; cook 5 min. or until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Remove and discard toothpicks. Serve chimichangas topped with sour cream and cilantro.

kraft kitchens tips

VARIATION
Save 140 calories and 18g of total fat per serving by substituting 1 lb. potatoes, cooked and cubed, for the browned ground beef and by using 2% Milk VELVEETA and BREAKSTONE’S Reduced Fat or KNUDSEN Light Sour Cream. To prepare, cook and stir onions with seasonings in large skillet 3 min. or until crisp-tender. Add potatoes; cook 3 to 5 min. or until heated through, stirring frequently. Spoon onto tortillas and continue as directed.
Looking for a fun way to get your kids involved with the cooking.  Try this.  They’ll love helping you roll the shells up and putting their favorite toppings inside and on it.
Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 🙂
Source:
Leave a Reply

