Sticky BBQ Ribs

We haven’t had ribs in our house for a very long time.  I love to grill them in the summer time, but the truth is they are expensive!  I usually have to buy two packs.  But I took my luck and got one pack.  Since a little one was under the weather today, he chose not to eat them!  More for us!  He had a sandwich!

Ingredients

  • BBQ Sauce
    1 small red onion, chopped
    1 tbsp olive oil
    1 garlic clove, crushed
    1/2 cup tomato ketchup
    1/3 cup fresh orange juice
    1/4 cup clear honey
    1 tbsp dark soy sauce
    2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

    2 3/4 pounds Saint Louis-style spareribs, cut into individual ribs
    salt and freshly ground black pepper, to season.   (I just bought a pack of spareribs  No specific brand name).

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 325 F. In a frying pan, sauté the onion in the oil for 5 minutes or until soft. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute, then add the remaining sauce ingredients, bring up to a simmer and cook for 1 minute. Allow to cool slightly then whiz together in a blender.
  2. I used my slow cooker for this. Any time I use my cooker for meat, it turns out nice and tender.  I did cook it on high for 2 1/2 hours.  I then put in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees to get the sauce cooked through more. After putting the ribs in the slow cooker, pour the sauce one the ribs and make sure all pieces are covered.
  3. Alternatively you can broil or BBQ the ribs — season and cook in the broiler or over coals for 10 minutes on each side. Brush the ribs with some of the sauce then turn and broil or grill for 5 minutes. Repeat 3 to 4 times until the ribs are cooked through, with a sticky coating.

Very glad I decided to use the slow cooker.  The meat was so tender.  Putting it in the oven to cook the sauce a bit more was a good choice.  The sauce had a great flavor to it.  (I doubled the sauce recipe because I wanted to make sure each piece was covered).

We ate this along some corn on the cob that was nice and crispy.

Awesome summer meal in mid May.

Have a great rest weekend.  Looking for a new way to cook ribs?  This is the way.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source:

Disney Family.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

