Pizza Pasta Pie

I found a fun, healthy recipe in “Eat More of What You Love” cookbook.   Who doesn’t love Pizza?  And who doesn’t love Pasta?  Well combine them together and you have Pizza Past Pie!

So who says you can’t eat what you love and have it be good for you?  Well I’ve been doing my best to be good!

A lot of families go out for dinner after work or before their kids have sports, etc.  But I’d rather cook a meal at home and have fun in creating something new an fun for the family.  This was no exception.  (Oh and don’t get me wrong – nothing can replace Zantigo for me!!)

I had a lot of fun making this.  My son has been in town from Duluth and so I tried to find some new things for him to try with us.  One of his least favorite meals in spaghetti!  On his first day here he asked what was for dinner and I told him not to ask…so he knew that it was spaghetti.  I did remind him that the last time I made spaghetti he liked it.  He admitted it.

My other half liked it too.  He has come to say any time that I make something new: “This is good!”.  I’ll say thank you and he’ll respond by saying: “It was alright!” Which just means that he has to try and give me a hard time because he liked something new!!!

Simple, fun, and awesome tasting.  And when the family likes it, I’ve won the battle for that day!  Today I won!

Ingredients

6oz dry spaghetti

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1/4 cup, plus  2tbs grated Parmesan cheese, divided

1/2 pound ground turkey (the recipe calls for ground beef )

2 cups mushrooms (I had to leave out 😦 )

1.5 cups marinara sauce

1/2 tsp oregano

1 cup skim ricotta cheese

3/4 cup shredded part skim mozzarella cheese

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly spray a 9 inch pie plate with cooking spray.

2.  Cook the spaghetti according to the package directions, drain, rinse, and shake well to remove access water.  Place in a large bowl and toss with the egg and 1/4 cup of the Parmesan cheese.  Press the spaghetti on the bottom and up the sides of the prepared pie plate and set aside.

3.  Spray a medium non-stick skillet with cooking wary and place over medium high heat.  Add the beef and mushrooms, if desired, and cook for 5-7 minutes until turkey/beef is cooked through and browned.  Add the marinara sauce and oregano, stir to combine, and cook 3-4 minutes.  Give the ricotta a stir and spoon onto the spaghetti crust, spreading evenly.  Spoon the meet sauce on the ricotta layer.  Sprinkle with the mozzarella and remaining Parmesan cheese.

4.  Bake for 3o minutes or until fully heated through.  Remove from oven and let stand 10 minutes before cutting into six wedges to serve.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:  Calories 290 | Carbs 26g (Sugars 2g) | Total fat 12g (saturated fat 6g) | Protein 24g | Fiber 5g | Cholesterol 80mg | Sodium 410mg | Food exchanges: 3 Lean Meat, 1 Starch, 1 Vegetable, 1 Fat.

Never be afraid to try something new.   Never think that exchanging ingredients in a recipe will take away the flavor from the dish because from what I’ve tried so far it hasn’t.  This was a very good pasta/pizza dinner that had the flavor of lasagna.

Happy Cooking.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking : )

Source

Eat More of What You Love

Leave a Reply

