Lemon Meringue Pie

I wanted to make some little mini lemon pies in my new tart pans, but it didn’t happen to work out that way.  I just so happened to have an extra box of pie crust in the fridge so I made a whole pie instead of the mini pies.  The reason is because  I “assumed” the pie crusts would stand up against the tart pans or possibly rise, but it didn’t, the almost fell flat.  So I rolled out the new crust and put it a pan and came up with a pretty pie!

 

Ingredients list

  • 1 cup – Domino® Granulated Sugar
  • 1/4 cup – cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp – salt
  • 1 1/2 cups – boiling water
  • 3 – eggs, separated (reserve whites for meringue)
  • 2 tsp – finely grated lemon rind
  • 1/3 cup – lemon juice (2-3 lemons)
  • 2 Tbs – butter or margarine
  • 1 – baked 8-inch pie crust or 6 tartlet crusts
  • 1/8 tsp – salt
  • 1/8 tsp – cream of tartar
  • 1/2 cup – sugar

Instructions

In medium saucepan, combine 1 cup sugar, cornstarch and 1/4 tsp salt. Gradually stir in water and cook, stirring constantly, 2 to 3 minutes, until mixture is clear and thickened. Remove from heat.

Combine egg yolks, rind and juice; stir into hot mixture. Cook, stirring constantly, 3 minutes longer. Remove from heat and stir in butter. Pour into crust or divide evenly among individual tartlets. Preheat oven to 350°F. In large glass or metal bowl, beat egg whites with salt and cream of tartar until foamy. Gradually beat in 1/2 cup sugar until stiff and glossy peaks form. Swirl meringue over pie. Bake 12 to 14 minutes until golden.

My other “Girl” isn’t a fan of lemons, but you could switch it up and use lime instead!!  Hint, hint Jodi!

I think I may have cut the pie a bit too soon.  The lemon curd didn’t settle quite enough, but it tastes just fine!

Craig happened to bring home Apple Crust and offered some to Caleb.  I asked Caleb to choose between my pie and Craig’s pie.  Ok so he chose Craig’s, but that’s because he likes to make side with Craig.

Either way, this is good pie.  I ate only half a piece!  Only because I’m trying to be good!

Happy baking and cooking!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source

Domino Sugar

Leave a Reply

