Peach Cobbler Tarts

 

Peach Cobbler Tarts.  Why?  Well, I’ve wanted to try something new with my tartlet pans and the first thing that came to mind were actually some mini apple pies.  I had some pre made pie crusts and apples in the fridge, how easy could that be?

But then I started thinking that’s playing it a bit safe.  And I’m trying to move away from being safe when it does to baking right??  Right!

I stumbled upon this recipe for some Peach Cobbler tarts.  I used a portion of the recipe from that site and then the tart crust from the Blueberry Tartlets that I made earlier this month.  I loved, loved the flavor of that crust.  The cobbler recipe called for drop biscuits.  I wasn’t planning on adding those until the last minute.

Peach Filling and Biscuit Topping:

1 pound sliced, peeled peaches (fresh or frozen, slightly thawed)

1/4 cup good quality peach preserves

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

pinch of salt

3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons cold heavy cream

2 tablespoons granulated sugar mixed with 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Confectioners’ sugar for dusting

  1. For the crust please check out the Blueberry Tartlets from a previous post:

Crust

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 3 tablespoons (about) chilled whipping cream
  • 1 large egg yolk

For crust:

Blend flour, sugar, and salt in processor 5 seconds. Add butter and cut in, using on/off turns, until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add 2 tablespoons cream and egg yolk. Using on/off turns, blend until moist clumps form, adding more cream by teaspoonfuls if dough is dry. Shape dough into log. Cut crosswise into 8 equal rounds. Press each round over bottom and up sides of 3 3/4×3/4-inch tartlet pan with removable bottom. Pierce crusts with fork. Chill at least 1 hour and up to 1 day.

Preheat oven to 375°F. Bake tartlet crusts until lightly golden, pressing any bubbles with back of fork, about 15 minutes. Cool crusts completely on rack.

  1. For Peach Filling: In a food processor, pulse peaches and preserves until mixture is coarsely chopped. Place peach mixture in a medium saucepan; add the peach nectar, bourbon, lemon juice, cinnamon and salt. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until thickened and the consistency of jam, about 25 minutes. Remove from heat and transfer to a bowl to cool.
  2. Preheat oven to 350°F. Bake crust until light golden brown around edges and dry to touch, about 15 minutes. Transfer pan to rack to cool slightly, about 5 minutes. Spread filling over crust, leaving a ¼-inch border around edge.
  3. For Biscuit Topping: In a large bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Using a pastry blender or fingertips cut butter into flour mixture until it resembles coarse meal. Stir in heavy cream, mixing until just combined. The dough will be slightly sticky, but manageable. Do not over work. Drop biscuit topping over peach filling. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until topping is light golden brown and fruit is bubbling. Transfer to wire rack and cool 30 minutes.
  4. To Serve: Remove sides of spring form pan. Cut tart into 8 wedges. Dust lightly with confectioners’ sugar and serve warm or at room temperature. If desired, serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

The house smells amazing.  I think I say that anytime there is cinnamon added to any dish!  At this time of the day the kids are in bed so they didn’t get a chance to help me bake it or a chance to taste it fresh from the oven.  They will be asking for one when they walk in the door from school tomorrow, that much I know!!!

These cobbler tarts are amazingly good!  I am honestly not a sweet eater.  I love my candy, I love some soda, but I can pass on the cakes and pies over chips and salsa any day.  But these…these are really good.  I am so glad that I skipped over the mini apple pies and stumbled upon these.  I can’t say that these are on my sugar free friendly list.  I can say that I will eat one and be satisfied with that.  Be strong or indulge completely.  I will be strong while I do indulge!!

Try, try, try these.  They will not disappoint at all.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Sources

Food52

Epicurious

Leave a Reply

