Omelet in a Bag

Tonight I was planning on making tacos for dinner, but I had a ground turkey mishap and so we moved onto plan B.  Which just so happens to be Omelets in a Bag.  I do believe I found this on Pinterest or from another blog.  Either way, this one could not be passed upon simply because of the concept of the title!!!

I had actually planned on making this last week and something else came up so here we are…Omelets in a bag.

Does it sound strange to you to even think of making an Omelet this way?  Sure did to me.  But I can say that I have always had trouble with making omelets in a pan.  Not making them, but folding them to come out the way they are supposed to!  But when you look at how this one slides on out of the bag!!  Wow, totally impressed with cooking in a bag.  Wonderful idea for sure.  Great tasting for sure. Kid friendly (minus the boiling water part).  They had a great time putting their ingredients in their own bag and smashing it.

What is the best about making this is you can pick and choose what you want in your own bag.  There’s no “set” recipe or ingredients.

Here’s what you need as far as the bag goes:  Ziplock Zip and Steam.  I found mine at Target and I’m sure they are sold in any grocery store as well.

For our omelets we used two eggs (I wanted to use egg whites but was in a rush to get them in the water with the kids by me so the entire egg went in).

I cut up some deli turkey meat, onion, I had a bag of real bacon bits, and some shredded cheddar cheese.  I added a bit of Franks Hot sauce to mine after it was baked.  It was a great addition.  Whatever you like in your omelet, go for it.  There are no additions that you can’t add.  From the original post it did say that  you may need to cook it longer than the 13 minutes.

Here are the “official” directions.

Bring a big pot to a boil.  In your own Zip Lock bag put your name or initial on it, add two eggs, the onion, the bacon, the cheese and the turkey meat.  I pushed the air out of the bag and just smashed it all together.

Once we were all ready I carefully put them in our boiling pot.  I set the timer for 13 minutes and checked to make sure it was coming along half way through.

When the timer went off I grabbed the first bag, cut it open and slid it onto Brooklyn’s plate.  I cannot say enough how impressed I was with how perfectly shaped this omelet came out.  On to the next  for Caleb.  Same thing.  Perfection.  How the heck did this bag roll that egg stuff into the perfect omelet shape!!!!

I’ve been on the look out for so many different healthy meals that I haven’t gone through and made the ones that we’ve really liked again.  This would be good to go along with the egg rolls that was made last week.  Maybe leave out the egg and just do the hash browns with some low fat cheese and onions!  Good brunch meal or breakfast for dinner!

Have a great day.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source

Homemade Ginger

Leave a Reply

