Lemon Caper Chicken

While on my search for healthier foods, I found this chicken dinner.  I was ready to have the Chicken Cordon Bleu that I had made before.  As I said I went online in search of diabetic recipes (I am not diabetic but trying to lower my sugar intake).  And this was the best way I could think of to find recipes.

I found this on Food.com and thought I’d give it a try!

Now don’t get me wrong, I do have some things planned to post that may not be the best as far as health wise goes, but all things in moderation I was told again today (thanks Heidi).

So here’s our Lemon Caper Chicken.

Ingredients

    • 1 tablespoon olive oil
    • 4 thinly-sliced thinly-sliced boneless skinless chicken breast halves
    • salt and pepper
    • 4 teaspoons whole wheat flour, divided
    • 1 medium shallots, minced (I LEFT THIS OUT BECAUSE MY FAMILY DOESN’T LIKE THEM)
    • 2 tablespoons drained capers
    • 1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
    • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
    • 1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley (I HAD DRIED PARSLEY SO USED THIS INSTEAD)

Directions

  1. Warm oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Pat chicken breasts with paper towels to thoroughly dry. Season chicken with salt and pepper, then lightly coat with flour, using about 1 tsp for each breast. (I DECIDED TO GRILL THE CHICKEN TODAY INSTEAD OF FRYING IN A PAN.  I ADDED A CHICKEN BREAST SPRAYED WITH COOKING OIL AND SOME BROCCOLI TO A FOIL PACK).
  2. Lay chicken in skillet; cook 2 to 3 minutes, until golden brown, gently pressing down on breast to ensure equal browning. Reduce heat to medium. Turn breasts; cook 2 to 3 minutes longer, until golden brown and cooked through. Remove breasts to a serving platter. (SEE ABOVE ON GRILLING)
  3. Reduce heat to low; add shallots and capers to skillet. Cook 30 seconds, stirring. Add broth and juice, cook 1 minute, until incorporated and thickened, stirring. Stir in parsley, pour sauce over chicken. Serve immediately.
I love grilled chicken.  And even better, I love to top chicken with some sort of sauce.  I love capers and I love lemons.  These two added together made this chicken taste delicious.  The chicken was so moist.  I love capers.  I really love capers!
We had this along with a Mixed Berry Smoothie.

Have a happy day.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

Servings Per Recipe: 4

Amount Per Serving

Calories 184.1

Calories from Fat 60

Amount Per Serving

Total Fat 6.7g

Saturated Fat 1.2g

Cholesterol 75.5mg

Source:

Food.com

Leave a Reply

