Creamy Vanilla-Caramel Cheesecake

Ok so I posted that I was going to see if I could find some low fat/low sugar desserts and foods.

Today I have two recipes that I’m trying out and we’ll see how you and the family like them.

First off we have the Creamy Vanilla-Caramel Cheesecake.  It uses low fat yogurt, low fat crackers, low fat cream cheese and also the caramel sauce is low fat.  Now I had said before that I had seen the low fat food items tends to increase the sugar content.  I did look on each of the items that I bought and for sure the sugar was much higher in the yogurt and the caramel.  But looking at the fat compared to the sugar, I gave in on these two items.  It wasn’t that much to make a difference right!!  I’d rather have a bit more sugar than a lot more and added fat as well.

I wanted to run to Barnes and Noble to see if I could find a diabetic cookbook but decided that I’d check out online on Betty Crocker.  Sure enough, there is a recipe area for diabetic desserts and dinners.  So here we go.

Ingredients

15 reduced-fat chocolate or vanilla wafer cookies, crushed (1/2 cup)

2 packages (8 ounces each) reduced-fat cream cheese (Neufchâtel) , softened

2/3 cup sugar

3 egg whites or 1/2 cup fat-free cholesterol-free egg product

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups vanilla low-fat yogurt

2 tablespoons Gold Medal® all-purpose flour

1/3 cup fat-free caramel topping

Pecan halves, if desired (I left this out as we’re not big on pecans)

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 300°F. Spray springform pan, 9×3 inches, with cooking spray. Sprinkle cookie crumbs over bottom of pan.
  2. Beat cream cheese in medium bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Add sugar, egg whites and vanilla. Beat on medium speed about 2 minutes or until smooth. Add yogurt and flour. Beat on low speed until smooth.
  3. Carefully spread batter over cookie crumbs in pan. Bake 1 hour. Turn off oven; cool in oven 30 minutes with door closed. Remove from oven; cool 15 minutes. Cover and refrigerate at least 3 hours.
  4. Drizzle caramel topping over cheesecake. Garnish with pecan halves. Store covered in the refrigerator.
I decided not to tell anyone that this was a diabetic recipe until AFTER they ate it.  The kids won’t know what it means, but Craig will.  And when you take sweets our of a dessert, then it surely can’t taste as good right!!!!  WRONG.  This was fabulous.  If you’re in need of these types of recipes the check out Betty Crocker online.

I hope this satisfies your sweet tooth and you continue on with me and my search to find not only low fat but low sugar recipes to you.  Me?  I had to have another piece just to make sure that it was in fact low sugar.  This lacked nothing that the real version has.   It is rich in flavor for sure.  Very, very good.

I added some fresh frozen berries to another piece.  That was just as good!

Have a great day.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking 😉

Makes 16 servings

Nutritional Information

  • 1 Serving (1 Serving)Calories 175 (Calories from Fat 65 ),Total Fat 7 g(Saturated Fat 5 g,Cholesterol 25 mg;Sodium 180 mg;Total Carbohydrate 23 g(Dietary Fiber 0g,Protein 5 g;Percent Daily Value*:Vitamin A 6.00%;Vitamin C 0.00%;Calcium 6.00%;Iron 0.00%;Exchanges:1 Starch;1/2 Milk;1 Fat;*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

Source

Betty Crocker

Leave a Reply

