Blueberry Tartlets w/Lime Curd

I woke up this morning not feeling the greatest.  I actually went to bed earlier than the kids did last night!  But I’m a trooper today.  I got out of bed, went to church, came home helped kids finish homework and decided cleaning could wait, I’m going to bake again today!

The Strawberry Mousse cups may not have turned out the way I wanted or the way they were supposed to, but they did taste really good.

So in the midst of this terrible head cold,  I am determined to bake these blueberry lime tarts.  I’m thinking that I really should have doubled the recipe for these because the crust is so thin and it doesn’t seem like there is a lot of curd.  However, I have plans…plans to bake some apples in cinnamon if I run out of the curd, or even use the left over mousse from yesterday!

Ingredients

Curd

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons grated lime peel

Crust

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 3 tablespoons (about) chilled whipping cream
  • 1 large egg yolk

Topping

  • 3 1/2-pint baskets blueberries
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Preparation

For curd:
Whisk sugar and lime juice in heavy medium saucepan to blend. Whisk in yolks, then butter. Cook over medium-low heat until thick, smooth, and just beginning to bubble, stirring constantly, about 8 minutes. Remove from heat. Mix in lime peel. Transfer to small bowl. Press plastic wrap onto surface of curd. Refrigerate until cold, at least 4 hours. (Can be made 4 days ahead. Keep refrigerated.)

For crust:
Blend flour, sugar, and salt in processor 5 seconds. Add butter and cut in, using on/off turns, until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add 2 tablespoons cream and egg yolk. Using on/off turns, blend until moist clumps form, adding more cream by teaspoonfuls if dough is dry. Shape dough into log. Cut crosswise into 8 (my tartlet tins are bigger because I only have 6 and the crust was fairly thin) equal rounds. Press each round over bottom and up sides of 3 3/4×3/4-inch tartlet pan with removable bottom. Pierce crusts with fork. Chill at least 1 hour and up to 1 day.

For topping:
Place 1/2 cup berries and sugar in heavy small saucepan. Using fork, mash berries coarsely. Cook mixture over medium heat until beginning to simmer, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Using rubber spatula, push as much of mixture as possible through strainer set over medium bowl. Mix remaining blueberries into strained berries. Set topping aside.

Preheat oven to 375°F. Bake tartlet crusts until lightly golden, pressing any bubbles with back of fork, about 15 minutes. Cool crusts completely on rack.

Spread curd in crusts. Spoon blueberry topping over. (Can be prepared ahead. Let stand at room temperature up to 2 hours or refrigerate up to 1 day.)

The hardest part for me in baking is the waiting.  I’m am not the most patient person there is.  So when it says to wait for 4 hours on the curd, I’m sitting here watching the time go by.  I have a timer set for me to wait and pull it out.

I”m super excited to taste these!

Ok so a few hours later….these were so good.  So good.  The crust was so flaky and sweet.  The lime curd was pretty darn good too.  Not sure why mine looks darker in color than the original picture.  But either way, I’m quite pleased with these.  Super good.  Not hard to make at all.  I would use this recipe again for any type of crust.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source

Eipcurious

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Tartlets w/Lime Curd

  1. Your pies looks so fresh and inviting. I cannot wait for the blueberry season to start here in Croatia so I could try them with fresh blueberries!

Leave a Reply

