Veggie Nuggets

Here’s an easy way to hide the green veggie from your kids (and the adult as well).  Spinach is the green veggie I’m hiding today.

When I saw recipe I knew I had to make it.  I knew it couldn’t be a main course for dinner so I made a glazed ham on along with it.

When I was growing up, my grandma used to make home made mashed potatoes.  She always left the chunks in it.  I remember that wasn’t one of my favorites.  In fact, I almost always buy the pre-made mashed potatoes for that reason.  But lately I’ve been slicing the potatoes and mashing them up myself.  I even left some of the chunks in there and it’s really been ok.

I have a feeling she’s smiling down right now after seeing what I just wrote about her!  And that’s a good thing!

These little Veggie Nuggets were simple to make.

Heat oven to 450 degrees

For the mashed potatoes:

I used 4-5 medium sized red potatoes

1 cup of fat free sour cream

1tsp garlic salt

Directions for the potatoes:

In a medium pot place the sliced potatoes with enough water to cover and bring to a boil.  When the potatoes are tender – about 10-12 minutes, drain and return to pot.

Add the sour cream and garlic salt and mash together.

For the Veggie Nuggets:

Cooking Spray

1 cup Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs

3 cups of smashed potatoes

2/3 cup of cooked or frozen and thawed spinach, chopped

black pepper to taste

Directions for Veggie Nuggets:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper and spray with cooking spray; set aside.

On a plate, add the bread crumbs and set aside as well.

In a medium sized bowl, combine the potatoes and the spinach and season with salt and pepper.  Form bite sized nuggets out of the mixture and roll in bread crumbs.  Transfer the nuggets to the baking sheet and spray lightly with more cooking spray.  Bake until lightly browned and the nuggets are hot.

Serve immediately with any sauce.  We used Ranch Dressing.

For the Ham:

I had a small, pre-sliced ham and placed it in a 9×9 baking dish, sprayed with cooking spray.  Poured some brown sugar and half a can of Sierra Mist over the ham and bake of 20-25 minutes.

I got a thumbs up from Brooklyn, a thumbs down from Caleb and a “what’s in this” from Craig.  I told him it was spinach.  He ate it because I made it, but I’m not so sure it was a fav for him!

Brooklyn and I will eat these again.  I think they were great.  These would be a good appetizer as well.

Have a great rest of the week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source

iVillage

Leave a Reply

