BL (Minus the T) Linguine

I’m a planner.  I can’t go to the grocery store and not have a list of exactly what I need for the week.  I have to have each meal planned and for what day we’re eating it on.  When I get what I need on my list, I cross it off.  When everything is crossed off, I go over the list again to make sure I don’t miss anything.

Jodi is the same way.  We are planners.  We took a trip to Chicago a few years back. We had almost every hour of every day planned as to what we were going to do and where we were going to eat!!

And yet….when I looked at today’s meal I did the unthinkable, I changed it.  I changed it from Friday’s meal to Monday’s meal.  Look out, here comes Miss Adventurous!  So not me at all.   I don’t like surprises. I dislike not knowing what I’m getting for Christmas.  And I really dislike not knowing what an outcome will be for something I’m going through.   So changing my dinner plans was a big thing for me!!

All kidding aside, the real reason why I changed it was because I was trying to find what the family would like more over the other.  And to be honest, not sure there is one that they will all like because it has green onions in it.  But I made sure to keep the scallions big enough for them to pick out if needed.

The funny thing is that I left some of them left over for the kids to eat.  They like to dip it in salt.  Caleb started to eat his pasta and picked the “green things” out.   He then grabbed one off of the table and dipped it in a bit of salt.   While he’s doing that I asked him why he was picking out the onion from his dinner.  He told me that he doesn’t like onions.  When I told he was eating onions, he told me I was joking.  Ok, buddy.  But I’m not joking.  I’m hoping that Craig will say the same thing (highly unlikely!).

Ok, enough about my impatience and lack of adventure, lets get back to dinner.

I found this on iVillage and it looked pretty good.  I love pasta, I love bacon and I love onions.  I left out the tomato because none of us are fans of those red things at all!

Here’s to a new meal in our house!

Ingredients:

The recipe called for 10 pieces of crumbled bacon (I used 1 1/2 bags of Hormel Real Bacon Crumbles) only because I had on hand and  thought it would be better than the actual bacon cooked in grease.

A bunch of scallions cut into bite size chunks (for the picky people)

4 oz Fat Free Cream Cheese

12 oz package of Linguine

1 pint of Cherry tomatoes, halved – if you must have!

salt and pepper to taste

How To:

1 Bring a large saucepan of salted water to a boil.

2 While the water heats, in a large skillet over medium heat, cook the bacon until it is crisp, 6 to 7 minutes. Add the scallions and tomatoes, then sauté for 2 minutes. Use a slotted spoon to transfer the mixture to a bowl, draining any excess fat.

3 Cook the pasta according to package directions. Reserve 1⁄4 cup of the cooking water, then drain the pasta and return it to the saucepan.

4 Add the cream cheese and half of the reserved cooking water to the pasta. Toss until the cheese is melted and forms a creamy sauce.

5 Add three-quarters of the bacon and tomato mixture, then toss again. If the sauce is too thick, add a bit more of the reserved cooking water. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

6 Divide the pasta among 4 plates, then top each serving with some of the remaining bacon and tomato mixture.

You can add, remove, take out what you want with this.  The combination of these ingredients added great flavor.  I should have put in some fresh garlic..Just thought of that.  Maybe next time!

Happy Monday.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source:

iVillage

2 thoughts on “BL (Minus the T) Linguine

Leave a Reply

