Fresh Strawberry Pies

I have asked a couple of my friends that have made something that sounded really good to be a guest blogger.  Until last night, I was always turned down.

My friend, Debbie Montgomery told me on our Facebook page that she had made some strawberry mini pies.  When I asked her to be a guest blogger, told her what she needed to do, she said she’d send me the recipe.

So here is our first guest blogger.

Please welcome Debbie!  Hoping this isn’t her last time!

Here’s the finished product.

I started making this pie because it was my dad’s favorite and I wanted to buy him one for his birthday but I couldn’t find one because they were out of season. So I decided to make one myself and everyone loved it. Now my family asks for them all the time!

I use 3 recipes used to make the Fresh Strawberry Pie. One for the crust, filling, and homemade whipped cream but they are all super easy.

First, you need to make the crust.

Shortbread Crust Recipe

Ingredients:

2 cups Flour

1 cup Butter

4 tbsp Confectioner’s Sugar

Directions:

Sift flour and sugar together into mixing bowl. With pastry blender, cut in butter until mixture resembles cornmeal. Chill 30 minutes. Then press firmly into 9 inch pie pan or 4-5 5 inch mini pie tins. Bake at 425 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Cool to room temperature.

While the crusts are cooling you can make the Strawberry Pie Filling.

Fresh Strawberry Pie Filling Recipe

Ingredients:

48 oz Fresh Strawberries

1 cup Sugar

2 tbsp cornstarch

Directions:

Wash and dry the strawberries. Arrange 2/3 or 32 oz of the strawberries either halved or whole into baked pie crust(s). Put the other 1/3 or 16 oz berries and add sugar and cornstarch in a blender and blend until mixture is a smooth liquid. Pour sauce into a sauce pan and bring mixture to a boil. Boil 1 minute, stirring constantly. Cool mixture and pour over strawberries. Chill 1/2 day.

You can make the homemade whipped cream right away or wait until the next day to make it. It only takes minutes to make!

Whipped Cream Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream

1/4 cup Sugar

1 tsp Vanilla

Directions:

In a medium bowl, whip cream with an electric hand mixer on medium speed until almost stiff. Add sugar and vanilla; beat until cream holds peaks. Use a pastry bag to spread or spoon to dollop over the top of cooled pie.

Debbie can cook and bake.  I sure wished I lived a lot closer to her!  She’s making Peach Cobbler tonight.  Maybe we’ll get another post from her.

Thanks Debbie for sharing with us!!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Guest Blogger – Debbie Montgomery

Leave a Reply

