Boston Cream Pie Made Over

Boston Cream Pie is my all time favorites.  I love it!  Unfortunately I’m not “supposed” to eat it often, if at all.  So imagine my surprise when I saw that there was a recipe for one that was “Made Over” on..yep, you guessed it…Kraft Foods site again!

I have always, always made it known that baking scares me to pieces.  I don’t know why.  Ok, well maybe it’s because the food can sense my fear and it takes over during the baking process and it just becomes this blob of a mess!  Seriously, I don’t know what my fear is from.  I’ve just always cooked.  I never had the desire to bake.  I don’t each sweets that often, but when I do, I’d just go to the store and buy it!

Since starting this site I’ve gotten my feet wet (and sometimes fallen under water a bit too far) and given into the fear and come out okay.

I’m am not going to lie.  I tried this recipe last week.  I decided that instead of buying a pre-made Angel Food Cake, I was going to make it from scratch.  Ha!  Last weeks post did not make it.  A terrible failed attempt at the cake…I had to throw not only the cake away, but the pan as well.   But at this point I am determined to make this cake.  I head back to the store yesterday, bought more eggs and started again last night.  I knew what my problem was (I had used my mixer to blend in the flour and sugar instead of FOLDING it in as the recipe stated – it deflated my eggs).

So here’s what I used for the Angel Food Cake:

12 Egg Whites

1 1/2 tsp Cream of tartar

1 1/2 cups sugar, divided

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp Almond Extract

1 cup sifted cake flour

1/4 tsp salt

Here’s how to make the cake:

Preheat oven to 375F

In large bowl, using a mixer, beat egg whites with cream of tartar at high speed until foamy. Add 3/4 cup of the sugar, 2 tablespoons at a time, beating constantly until sugar is dissolved* and whites are glossy and stand in soft peaks. Beat in flavorings.

Sift together flour, remaining sugar and salt. Sift about 1/2 cup of the flour mixture over whites and gently fold just until flour disappears. Repeat, folding in remaining flour mixture 1/2 cup at a time. Pour into ungreased 10 x 3 3/4-inch Angel Food pan. Gently cut through batter with metal spatula.

Bake in preheated oven until top springs back when lightly touched with finger. Invert cake in pan on funnel or bottle neck. Cool completely, about 1 1/2 hours.

With narrow spatula or knife, loosen cake from pan and gently shake onto serving plate. Top with fruit or frost, if desired. Chocolate Angel Food Cake Recipe: Omit almond extract and increase vanilla to 2 teaspoons. Reduce flour to 2/3 cup and sift in 1/3 cup Cocoa Powder. Prepare batter and bake as above.

Now on to the filling for the Pie:

what you need

1 pkg. (1.0 oz.) JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Fat Free Sugar Free Instant Pudding

1-1/2 cups  cold fat-free milk

1 cup thawed COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping, divided

1 prepared round angel food cake (10 oz.), cut horizontally into 3 layers (I made mine remember!!)

1 square BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Chocolate, chopped

make it

BEAT pudding mix and milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in 1/2 cup COOL WHIP.

STACK cake layers on serving plate, spreading pudding mixture between layers.

MICROWAVE chocolate and remaining COOL WHIP in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 30 sec.; stir until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Spoon over cake. Refrigerate 1 hour, or up until 4 hours, removing from refrigerator 30 min. before serving.

kraft kitchens tips

HOW TO SLICE CAKE EVENLY

Use toothpicks to mark cake into 3 layers. Use a long serrated knife to cut cake, in sawing motion, into layers. This worked really well for Craig, who cut the cake for me!

MAKEOVER – HOW WE DID IT

We’ve taken a classic recipe and made it over by preparing it with JELL-O Vanilla Flavor Fat Free Sugar Free Instant Pudding, COOL WHIP LITE Whipped Topping and an angel food cake. We also eliminated the butter and powdered sugar in the chocolate topping. These changes will save you 170 calories and 10 grams of total fat, including 3 grams of saturated fat, per serving.

MAKE AHEAD

Dessert can be made up to 4 hours in advance. Remove from refrigerator 30 min. before serving.

Ok so I did buy a pre-made Angel Food Cake from the Bakery yesterday…you know, just in case.  But yay!!!  I didn’t have to use it.  I may need some practice on how to make this dessert things look pretty, but I did it and I’m sure proud.

Have a great day!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source

Recipes 4 Cakes

Kraft Foods

2 thoughts on “Boston Cream Pie Made Over

Leave a Reply

