Fiesta Chicken Enchiladas Made Over

To say it was a crazy, busy weekend this past one would be putting it mildly.

First I had four grand babies here on Friday and part of Saturday along with my younger son.  The kids were pretty good and surprised me that I didn’t have to sit down and cover my ears and beg for them to be quiet 50 times in 10 minutes.

Trying to plan meals around that many is always a challenge because my son and his older boy are pickier than picky can be. I know I joke about my ones that live with me on a daily basis being picky, but Justice will only eat chicken mcnuggets.  And he did get those Friday night for dinner.

Saturday’s lunch was a bit more on the “nope not going to eat it.”  We went to Zantigo for lunch and he refused.

How does one pass on Zantigo?  I can’t answer that.  I did tell him that he would love it.

So the enchilada got put off until Sunday night. (I was taking my chances with Craig on this one too, but he ate it!  And I didn’t get a complaint either.

What you need

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

1 large green pepper, chopped (I left these out due to the family’s distaste – I would have liked it)

1 large red pepper, chopped (I left these out due to the family’s distaste – I would have liked it)

1 Tbsp. chili powder

3/4 cup TACO BELL® HOME ORIGINALS® Thick ‘N Chunky Salsa, divided

2 oz. (1/4 of 8-oz. pkg) PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese, cubed

3/4 cup KRAFT Mexican Style 2% Milk Finely Shredded Four Cheese, divided

8 whole wheat tortillas (6 inch)

Make it

HEAT oven to 375ºF.

HEAT large skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat. Add chicken, peppers and chili powder; cook and stir 8 min. or until chicken is done. Stir in 1/4 cup salsa and Neufchatel; cook and stir 3 to 5 min. or until Neufchatel is melted and mixture is well blended. Stir in 1/4 cup shredded cheese.

SPOON heaping 1/3 cup mixture down center of each tortilla; roll up. Place, seam-sides down, in 13×9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; top with remaining salsa and shredded cheese. Cover.

BAKE 20 min. or until heated through.

kraft kitchens tips

MAKEOVER – HOW WE DID IT

Here’s a better-for-you alternative that will save you 110 calories and 11 grams of fat, including 8 grams of saturated, fat per serving when compared with the traditional recipe. We did it by preparing it with PHILADELPHIA Neufchatel Cheese and KRAFT Mexican Style 2% Milk Finely Shredded Four Cheese and decreased the amounts used for both.

SPECIAL EXTRA

Garnish each serving with 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro.

VARIATION

Prepare using corn tortillas. To prevent cracking, warm tortillas as directed on package before filling and baking as directed.

The chili powder and the cream cheese mixed with the salsa added a great flavor. I didn’t think to add some onion to mine!  Maybe next time.

I’m all for saving fat and making things better for you, yet still enjoying the great taste!

Have a great Monday!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source
Leave a Reply

