Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Thighs

I love ribs so, when I saw the post from Jonna at Just Get Off Your Butt and Bake I  saved this recipe.  I went grocery shopping  on Monday for the week and they had only one  package of pork ribs.  There were barely four pieces in it, so I had to come up with another meal on the go.

Craig always says that he prefers the chicken thighs over breast because it doesn’t dry out as much.  I have to agree.  So I head back to the chicken section and grab two packs of the boneless, skinless chicken thighs.

At this point I totally forgot to get the rest of the ingredients I had on my list because I figured I’d make them another way.  But today I took the chicken out, grabbed the slow cooker and decided to make do with what I had on hand,

This is what I used:

2  packs of boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 12 pieces total)

1  cup ketchup

2 cups Light Brown Sugar

1 tbs ginger

1 tbs nutmeg

2 cups of pears in sauce

3 cloves of fresh crushed garlic cloves

Here’s what I did:

I cut as much of the fat off of the chicken as I could and placed it in the slow cooker.

In a medium sized bowl I added all of the ingredients and mixed well.  I poured it over the chicken, covered with foil and put the lid on.  My slow cooker has four different settings and I put mine on 6 hours to cook.  I ended up putting it on warm about 4 hours later.  On Jonna’s site she had said to get the sauce to thicken she took the foil off and let some of the steam out from removing the lid a bit.

I think that I may have used too much of the pear juice which is why mine didn’t quite thicken up.  The pear mixed with the home made sauce really gave it the smokey, sweet flavor.  The chicken feel right apart.

I sliced some potatoes up, boiled them in water and drained.  I added some butter and flour to the pan, added some chicken stock and put the potatoes back in the pot and added some chunks of Velveeta cheese and mixed until melted.  Great addition to this dinner.

I do hope to try this with the ribs at some point.

The kids were not a fan of this chicken.  I think it had more to do with the look of it than the flavor.  They didn’t like the pears mixed in with it.  I, on the other hand, loved this.  Great flavor with chicken that just fell apart!

Curious to see if the kids would eat this if I had used the ribs and the pineapple instead of the pear!

Hoping my guy likes it as much as I did! (He better since he asked for the dark chicken)!

Have a great rest of the week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

 

Leave a Reply

